咖啡实际上并非起源于巴西,然而巴西咖啡如今全球闻名,堪称巴西国家财富的一大重要来源。在过去的150年里,每年全球咖啡有三分之一产自这里,这意味着巴西是世界上最重要的咖啡生产国,也是主要出口国。在咖啡消费方面,巴西排在第二位,仅次于美国,每个巴西人每年喝掉将近5公斤的咖啡。

 

巴西咖啡大多数是阿拉比卡(Arabica)品种,其次是罗布斯塔(Robusta)品种。巴西的土壤适于栽培多种不同类型的咖啡,制造商可以提供多种不同形式的产品:天然、去除果肉、去壳、淡咖啡、酸咖啡、醇厚咖啡以及各种香气和特殊类型。

 

 

巴西咖啡种植面积达225万公顷

巴西咖啡种植面积大概有225万公顷,分属于28.7万位种植者。其中大部分是中小型咖啡农民、他们组成协会和合作社,分布于巴西15个州1900个城市,确保了咖啡品质的多样性。

 

仅去年一年,巴西收获了4324袋60公斤装浓缩咖啡,3205万袋阿拉比卡品种和1119万袋柯林隆(Conilon)品种。米纳斯吉拉斯州、圣埃斯皮里图州、圣保罗州、巴伊亚州、多尼亚州、拉那州和戈亚斯州产量合计占了巴西咖啡产量的98.65%。

 

即便如此,咖啡仅占巴西农业出口额的7%,带来收入6.16十亿美元,相当于3710万袋60公斤装的总金额。巴西咖啡的主要目的地包括美国、德国、意大利、日本、比利时,巴西咖啡产业带来了约800万个直接和间接的就业机会。

 

不断研究,改良咖啡豆

为了提高巴西咖啡的品质,巴西大力投资科研,是这一领域全球最大的研究计划的领头羊。咖啡研究协会联合了45家专业从事研究、教学和偏远地区拓展的巴西机构,在遗传改良、生物技术和病虫害防治对策方面位于前沿。

 

该领域的研究项目资金来自咖啡经济防卫基金(Funcafé)以及其他的州和联邦机构。17年来,该协会已执行大约4500项研究计划,其成果惠泽整个生产链。

Even though it did not actually originate in Brazil, Brazilian coffee is now renowned throughout the world and is an important source of wealth for the country. One third of the world’s coffee production has come from Brazil every year, over the last 150 years, meaning that Brazil is the most important producer of coffee in the world, and the main exporter as well. In terms of coffee consumption, we are in second place, after the United States, with each Brazilian imbibing the equivalent of almost 5 kilos of coffee per year.

 

Most Brazilian coffee is of the Arabica variety, followed by the Robusta variety. However, the soil of the country is prepared for the cultivation of several different types of coffee, and the producers have made the product available in many different forms: natural, depulped, shelled, the mild drink, the acid types, the full-bodied coffees, the aromatic and special types.

 

The Brazilian coffee plantation area has 2.25 million hectares

The Brazilian coffee plantation area has some 2.25 million hectares, and land area which is distributed among 287 thousand producers. Most of these are small to medium coffee farmers, organised in associations and co-operatives, and are distributed among 1.9 thousand municipalities in 15 different Brazilian states, which ensures a wide variety of coffee blends.

 

Last year alone, the Brazilian coffee harvest was 43.24 million 60-kg bags of enriched coffee, of which 32.05 million bags of the Arabica variety and 11.19 million bags of the Conilon type. The states of Minas Gerais, Espírito Santo, São Paulo, Bahia, Rondônia, Paraná and Goiás jointly account for 98.65% of Brazilian coffee production.

 

Even so, coffee accounted for a mere 7% of exports of Brazilian agribusiness, bringing in an income of USD 6.16 billion, which is equivalent to 37.1 million 60-kg bags. The main destinations of Brazilian coffee imclude the United States, Germany, Italy, Japan and Belgium, and the Brazilian coffee industry generates some 8 million direct and indirect jobs.

 

Research seeks the enhancement of the coffee beans

Brazil has made heavy investments in scientific research that can enhance the quality of Brazilian coffee, leading the world’s largest study programme in this segment. The Coffee Research Consortium, which is an integrated network of 45 Brazilian institutions specialised in research, teaching and rural extension, is at the front of this proposal that seeks ideas aimed at genetic improvement, biotechnology and also pest control.

 

The research projects in the sector are financed by the Coffee Economy Defence Fund (Funcafé) and other state and federal sources. During 17 years, the Consortium has executed some 4.5 thousand plans for research actions, whose results were shared with the whole of the production chain.