经济危机仍在巴西肆虐,但巴西政府一直在试图采取措施,削弱危机的不良后果。然而,到目前为止部分经济层面似乎并未受到这一情况的影响。

 

金融不稳定的最明显的效应之一就是外汇问题,与美元之间的汇率一直保持在4巴西雷亚尔(BRL)兑1美元的水平。因此,由于成本增加,进口货物及国际旅游(巴西人出国旅行的意愿)方面受到了很大的影响。

 

来巴西的外国游客数量将会增加

 

与国际旅游的惨淡前景相反,国内旅游(在巴西境内)的表现则可圈可点,因为外币的走强使得巴西成为外国游客更具吸引力的目的地,因为他们在巴西机场走下飞机之际,就可以看到美元预算可以直接乘四来用。因此,一月期间旅游业前景非常乐观,即使狂欢节在二月初才会启动,届时巴西的夏天才会刚刚开始,而这还未将里约热内卢举办奥运会的因素考虑在内。

 

为控制经济危机,巴西政府已削减诸多费用,还恢复了另一个税种,金融业务临时贡献税 (CPMF)。这项税收尚未正式创建,但预计仅2016年一年,它将会为政府财政新增240亿巴西雷亚尔的收入。

 

划包括公共工程和支持小企

 

联邦跨年度计划 (PPU)中列出了2016年和2019年之间政府将采取的公共行动,计划正在行政和立法领域进行讨论。在提议中还包括继续增长加速计划(PAC),该计划通过民用建筑领域的政府项目,让经济保持活跃。

 

2月份还将出台一向国家经济的刺激方案,其中包括卫生领域和对中小企业的支持。即便如此,预测表明国内生产总值(GDP)在 2016年将继续走低,目前预计为1.9%的水平,而官方对下一年的通胀预测则为6.47%。

 

即便如此,还有很多工作要做,因为要让巴西恢复普遍的乐观情绪仍有很长的路要走。大家主要关注的问题之一仍是投资等级地位的丧失。三个重要的信用评级机构中已有两家把巴西不再列为“良好支付方”,这两家机构是:惠誉和标准与普尔(S&P)。穆迪一直把巴西评为投资级,但目前正在对此进行审查,并可能会对巴西做降级处理。

 

投资地位的丧失会令有兴趣对巴西注资的投资人数量减少,会让巴西企业方拿到贷款的难度加大,并导致汇率增加。这意味着,PPU这类计划的批准恰逢其时,以此作为工具,显示出国家正在采取有力措施,重新控制国内经济形势。

The economic crisis is still raging in Brazil, but the Brazilian Government has been trying to launch measures to limit the effects thereof. However, some segments of the economy do not seem to have felt the impact of this scenario so much, so far.

 

One of the most evident effects of the financial instability has been the foreign exchange issue, with the United States Dollar having maintained an exchange rate of about 4 Brazilian Reais (BRL) to the dollar. As a result, the segment of imported goods and international tourism (Brazilians wishing to travel abroad) have suffered a lot, due to increased costs.

 

Arrival of foreign tourists should increase

 

 

In contrast to the dire prospects of international tourism, the segment of internal tourism (within Brazil) has a lot to commemorate, as the strength of foreign currency makes Brazil an even more attractive destination for foreign tourists, who see their budgets quoted in United States Dollars multiply by four as soon as they step off the plane at the Brazilian airport. Thus, the prospects suggest optimism in this segment during the month of January, even more so as Carnival shall take place in early February, when the summer will just have started in Brazilian territory. And this is not even considering the Olympic Games to be held in Rio de Janeiro.

 

In order to control the economic crisis, the Brazilian Government has made many expense cuts and also resuscitated another tax, the Temporary Contribution on Financial Operations (CPMF). This tax has not yet officially been created but it is expected that it shall rake in an additional BRL 24 billion to the Government coffers in 2016 alone.

 

 

Planning includes public works and support to small businesses

 

The Federal Pluriannual Plan (PPU), which lays out public actions to be taken between 2016 and 2019, is also being discussed between the executive and legislative spheres. Among the proposals that are present is the continuity of the Growth Acceleration Plan (PAC), which is responsible for keeping the economy active with Government projects in the civil construction area.

 

A programme of incentives to the national economy shall also be unveiled in February, including the sanitation area and support to small and medium businesses. Even so, the forecast are that the Gross Domestic Product (GDP) shall continue to fall in 2016 – the forecast now stands at 1.9% – while the official inflation forecast for next year is 6.47%.

 

Even so, there is still a lot to be done, as a general feeling of optimism is still a long way from returning to Brazil. One of the main concerns is still the loss of investment grade status. The assessment as a “good payer” was removed from the country by two of the three important credit rating agencies: Fitch and Standard & Poor’s (S&P). Moody’s has kept the Brazilian mark as that of investment grade, but are currently reviewing the situation, with a view to possible demotion of Brazil.

 

This loss of investment status means that there is a reduction in the number of investors interested in putting their funds into Brazil, making it more difficult for credit to enter in favour of Brazilian businesspeople and leading to increased exchange rates. This means that the approval of plans such as the PPU come at a good time and are used as tools to show the measures that the country has been taking to regain control of the country’s economy.