将危机与正面影响联系起来是较罕见的,但不少艺术家和经济学家却认为这是可能的。正如歌手鲍勃·迪伦(Bob Dylan)在其婚姻出现危机时发布了1975年的著名专辑《路上血痕》(Blood on the Tracks),莉娜·杜汉姆 (Lena Dunham)在遇到年代危机时写下了广受赞誉的电视剧——《衰姐们》(Girls)(2012年开播至今)。所以在发生经济危机时, 企业家们在优秀顾问的辅佐下,可能能够把握获得高回报率的投资机会。

 

经济危机如何让人获益,其中一个例子便是巴西国内的一个名叫“Tesouro Direto”(直接国债)的投资工具。该投资项目允许个人购买国债,成为政府的债权人。经济衰退是投资固定利率债券的好时机。这类债券依照基准利率(Selic)(目前是每年14.25%),一般顾问都建议投资者获取短期收益(至少两年)。

 

再者,发生经济危机时,商业领域有复苏趋势。商业领域在经济繁荣时, 未能受惠于经济增长。但在经济衰退时期,人们的一些行为习惯又重现了,比如修补旧衣服、修理损坏的家电、购买二手自行车和二手汽车。这种谨慎的消费方式,不但为手工劳动者带来更高的利润,还给小企业带来新的商机。

 

对于那些想进行高风险、高回报的短线投资者而言,没有什么情形比经济放缓更有利的了。在经济放缓的情形下,一种叫做“Distressed M&A” 即收购陷入财务困境的公司或公司资产的运作方式得以实施 。受益于2005年颁布的《巴西破产法》,这些交易意味着投资者以市场真实价值购买资产,无需额外负债,这些交易的盈利是非常可观的。

 

巴西国内企业是另一群在经济危机期间受益的机构。巴西雷亚尔兑美元汇率上升,意味着难以进口货物,从而使得国内企业与新公司建立起业务关系,提升国产货品的销售量。这往往会提升巴西本土品牌的知名度,进而进军海外市场。而且巴西雷亚尔的贬值也是吸引外国消费者购买巴西产品的重要因素。

It is rare to link crises to something positive, but quite a few artists and economists out there would consider it possible. For example, in the same way that singer Bob Dylan released his excellent album ‘Blood on the Tracks’ in 1975 amid the crisis of his marriage, and Lena Dunham has written her highly-acclaimed series – ‘Girls’ ( 2012 to present) while experiencing a generation crisis, an economic crisis in a country could mean an investment with an excellent rate of return for those entrepreneurs who have good advisors.

 

In Brazil, an investment tool is known as Direct Treasury (Tesouro Direto) is one of the examples that can show how an economic crisis could be fruitful. The investment allows individuals to buy Government public bonds, thus becoming a kind of creditor of the country. The recession is an excellent opportunity for investing in post-fixed bonds. These bonds follow the benchmark base interest rate (Selic) which stands currently at 14.25% per annum and investors are recommended to obtain a short-term return (maximum of two years).

 

Again, when there is an economic crisis, the commercial sector tends to recover, this being an area mostly left aside in the days of the economic boom. In times of recession, some of the habits such as alteration of clothing, repair of domestic appliances; and purchase of second-hand cars and bicycles return. Apart from granting higher value to manual labour, this also contributes to a more conscientious style of consumption, thereby giving a new investment possibility for small businesses.

 

For investors who are willing to run great risks to obtain a quick and high return on investment, there is no scenario more favourable than a moment of economic slowdown. It is mainly in this context that the operations known as ‘Distressed M&A’ are carried out, seeking to acquire companies, or assets from companies, which are going through economic hardship. Benefiting from the Brazilian Bankruptcy Law of 2005, these transactions mean that investors buy assets for their real market value, without the need to take on further debt, and these sales can be highly profitable.

 

Domestic business owners are the other group of people that will be benefited during an economic crisis. An increase in the exchange rate for the United States Dollar means it is hard to import goods, which in turn allows domestic producers to establish business relationships with new companies and boost sales. An economic downturn tends to strengthen Brazilian brands that, indeed, could tap into the export market. Moreover, the fall of the Brazilian Real is also a major factor that attracts foreign consumers.