最近在里约热内卢举行的奥运会期间,许多记录被刷新,包括游泳和田径项目的破纪录次数、里约地铁系统运送的乘客人数、里约博物馆的参观人数,等等。涂鸦艺术家Eduardo Kobra创作的“种族”壁画也在此列。这个作品的面积共2600 平方米,现已作为世界上单幅面积最大的涂鸦作品入选《吉尼斯世界纪录大全》,因此将出现在该书的最新版本中。

 

这幅涂鸦由5张面孔构成,代表了世界上的5个种族:新几内亚的Huli人、埃塞俄比亚的Mursi 人、泰国的Kayin人、欧洲的Supi 人、美洲的Tapajós 人。这幅作品的主旨是参照奥运五环,描绘各民族大团结,并且副标题是“各民族间的和平”。这幅涂鸦位于奥运大道(Olympic Boulevard)的所在地Orla Conde(该地区位于里约的港口区)。

 

这幅涂鸦耗费3个月时间用于研究和绘制草图,以达到最佳的设计效果。草图绘制了10几次。

 

涂鸦工作开始前,Kobra花了大约1个月修复墙体。在12名助手的帮助下,这幅涂鸦耗时40天(每天工作12小时),动用了7台液压升降机。

 

这位艺术家表示,除了项目规模宏大以外,最大的挑战是里约的炙热阳光。此外,墙面反射的阳光让人很难辨认颜色。为了到达17米高度,必须加强团队的安全措施。

 

总之,这幅涂鸦用尽了1800升白色打底涂料、3000罐喷雾剂、700罐彩色涂料、约100提桶18升装的丙烯酸胶乳涂料、150桶3.6升装的合成瓷漆。这幅涂鸦在奥运会期间也创下了另一项记录:自拍次数最多。奥会员结束后,这幅涂鸦继续吸引着人们前来参观,体验里约的5个种族和巴西的众多种族的热情好客。

Many records were broken during the Olympic Games recently held in Rio de Janeiro, ranging from historic figures in sports such as swimming and athletics, through to record numbers of passengers transported by the local Underground system and of visitors to the museums of the Marvellous City. The “Ethnicities” mural by graffiti artist Eduardo Kobra has joined the troupe. With a total area of 2,600 square metres (28,000 square feet), this work has now been recognised, by the Guinness Book of World Records, as the largest single graffiti item in the world, and shall therefore have an entry in the latest edition of this famous book of superlatives.

 

The work comprises five faces, representing five peoples around the world: the Huli of New Guinea; the Mursi from Ethiopia; the Kayin from Thailand; Supi people from Europe; and the Tapajós from the Americas. The ultimate aim is to depict the union of nations, with reference to the five Olympic rings. With the subtitle of “Peace between peoples”, the graffiti was made in a former run-down building on Orla Conde, in the port area of the Marvellous City, a region that was also home to the Olympic Boulevard.

 

To carry out this work, it was necessary to spend three months studying and drawing drafts, in order to reach the perfect design. There were more than 10 experimental drawings.

 

Before starting the graffiti art, Kobra had to restore the wall, in a process which lasted about a month. The work was painted in 40 days, with 12 hours of work every day, and had the collaboration of 12 helpers and the use of seven hydraulic lifts.

 

According to the artist, the biggest challenge, apart from the sheer magnitude of the project, was that of facing the baking-hot sun of Rio de Janeiro. Apart from the intense searing heat, the sunlight reflected against the walls made the colours more difficult to see. In addition, to reach the height of 17 metres, the security of the team had to be tightened.

 

In all, the work used up 1,800 litres of white paint for the background, 3,000 cans of spray, 700 cans of coloured paint, about a hundred 18-litre pails of acrylic latex, and one hundred and fifty 3.6-litre buckets of synthetic enamel. The picture, that was responsible for another record during the Olympic period (the highest number of selfies), continues to attract the attention of visitors, who also see the welcoming spirit of Rio de Janeiro in the five faces and also the variety of colours present in the Brazilian nation.