游走在贫民窟,出没于夜深无人处,巴西的街头艺术家们为巴西的城市涂上另一层富有生命力的色彩。无论你把他们的作品称为街头涂鸦还是城市艺术,在大多数人眼里,这些在城市街道出现的艺术作品是超凡脱俗的。

 

每个艺术家都有自己独特的艺术触觉,每个人的创作风格也有细微差别,但大多数的艺术是同出一徹的。他们对社会问题持不同观点,或反对现行的体制。他们把街头艺术当成是一种与大众交流的渠道,同时,又不必担心自己的作品遭到官方的审查和管制。艺术是一面反映时下社会问题和现状的镜子。比如在巴西世界杯开赛之际,许多艺术家就通过这种艺术来表达他们对足球比赛的态度和看法。

 

当你漫步于圣保罗里约市区的林荫大道时,会对路边丰富多彩的街头艺术和“涂鸦”感到惊奇。与世界其他国家政府把街头艺术,仅仅当成一种小规模的破坏的做法相悖,巴西人珍爱这种艺术形式。这不仅仅是一种宽容的态度; 更体现了巴西人对街头艺术的接纳和欣赏。实际上,2007年里约市就通过了新法令,声明在建筑业主不提起诉讼的情况下,在建筑和古迹上的涂鸦均属合法行为。

 

由于巴西对街头艺术的鼓励,这里街头艺术的水平处于世界前列。在巴西,有许许多多知名的或者在你眼里是无名小卒的出色街头艺术家。

 

Os Gémeos是一对来自圣保罗的双胞胎兄弟。他们将自己的城市作为画布,在许多高大的墙面上喷涂作画。他们的作品异常出色,并赢得了地下艺术圈的尊重。随後两兄弟的作品在国际上声名大噪,尽管如此,他们始终忠于故土,并在家乡先后开了许多画廊和画展 。

 

Paulo Ito也是一位来自圣保罗的艺术家。他的街头艺术闻名世界。当别人问起他创作街头艺术的原因时,他略显随意的说:“我从三岁开始画画,此后就再也没有停止过。”

 

L7m是另一位在圣保罗出生及成长的艺术家。在他13岁的时候,就已经利用中国油墨丶乳胶丶粉彩等喷漆创作出色彩简单丶独特的几何图案,表达悲伤丶生活美学丶复杂的城市问题丶贫民窟环境等各种不同题材作为作品的主题。

 

如果你想亲自体验下巴西的街头艺术,首选的目的地是圣保罗。这里对街头艺术的重视和认可度高于巴西其他任何城市。充满惊喜的涂鸦墙在整个美丽的城市的各个角落随处可见。当然了,在巴西任何城市旅行的途中,都可能会不期而遇一些值得玩味的街头涂鸦作品,但是圣保罗艺术的丰富性绝对是其他城市无可匹敌的。

Slinking down in the slums and peeping out when no one is watching, Brazil’s street artists liven up cities with beautiful artwork. Whether you call it graffiti or call it urban art, most people can agree that some of the art that has emerged on the city streets is a sight to behold.

 

Each artist has his own touch and nuances, but most of the art all touch base in one way. They are social commentaries against, or for, the system. It is a way to communicate ideas to the public that is not censored or regulated. The art always mirrors the problems and status of the time. Most recently, before the football world cup, there were many artists whose art reflected their feelings towards the competition.

 

While walking down the boulevards and avenues of urban areas like São Paulo and Rio de Janeiro, you may be surprised at the sheer abundance of street art or ‘graffiti’. Unlike the rest of the world, where governments consider street art to be nothing more than petty vandalism, Brazilians treasure the art. It isn’t just mere toleration; it is acceptance and enjoyment of such pieces. In fact in 2007, Rio de Janeiro decriminalized the defacing of urban buildings and monuments as long as the owners of such buildings do not press charges.

 

Owing to this fostering nature towards street artists, Brazil is considered on the forefront of the street art scene with many famous, or infamous depending on your stance, street artists.

 

Os Gémeos are twin brothers from São Paulo. Using their home city as a canvas they spray painted many large murals. The works were so great they started to gain respect in the underground urban art scene. This then blossomed to the international art scene attention as well, and though still true to their roots, they have opened some gallery exhibits.

 

Paulo ito is also an artist hailing from São Paulo. His street art is famous across the world. When asked why he creates street art, he simply said “I started drawing when I was 3 years old and never stopped.”

 

Another São Paulo born and raised artist is L7m. At the young age of 13 he had his first contact with spray that together with other painting techniques such as China ink, latex, pastel and acrylic allowed him to develop a unique creative process, characterized by the simple use of colors and geometry while approaching themes such as human sorrow, the beauty of life, the city’s disarray, the slums and surroundings.

 

If you want to experience the street art for yourself, the number one destination you should go to is São Paulo. It has the largest recognition of street art of any other city. The entire city is beautiful with unexpected murals around every corner. Of course during your travels to any urban area in Brazil you will find something worth pondering, but nothing can beat the abundance of art found in São Paulo.