巴西狂欢节一般在二月或三月举行,具体日期并不固定,取决于罗马天主教庆祝复活节的时间,以及每年圣灰星期三的时间。

 

圣灰星期三的前夕,也就是周二这天,是狂欢节庆祝活动的高潮,也是狂欢节最激情浪漫的一天。在浓烈的节日气氛感染下,不仅是巴西,其他国家的庆祝活动也都进行得如火如荼。

 

每年的巴西狂欢节都热闹非凡,会有数百万人齐涌街头。我们这就来盘点其中的一些趣事。

 

“莫墨斯王”在瘦身

狂欢节开幕当天,许多城镇的市长都会将城门金钥匙交给“莫墨斯王”。“莫墨斯王”是位神话人物,在整个狂欢节期间,当地城镇都要交给他和“狂欢节女王”及两位公主“打理”。

 

这个传统源于古罗马,起初市民会选择一名英俊的士兵(后来却变成了城里最胖的一位)代表嘲笑之神莫墨斯,在狂欢节期间负责“管理”整个城镇。

 

然而,就如今流行的评选标准而言,以往的“莫墨斯王”实在有些超重了,以前这一职位的参选标准体重都至少要达到120公斤。为了响应反肥胖运动,如今市民选举“莫墨斯王”的标准渐渐发生了改变,那些体型修长者则会更受青睐。

 

里约热内卢荣登吉尼斯纪录大全

早在2004年,久负盛名的里约热内卢狂欢节就作为世界上最壮观的街头狂欢节,被载入吉尼斯世界纪录大全。在狂欢节期间,平均每天有200万人涌上里约热内卢街头参加盛会。

 

仅在2014年,500万名狂欢者在里约热内卢狂欢节一掷千金,为当地的经济贡献了20亿巴西雷亚尔(约合5亿美元)。

 

累西腓的狂欢节也入选吉尼斯世界纪录

虽然里约热内卢狂欢节早已声名远播,堪称世界之最。但在全球范围内,真正称雄的却是伯南布哥州的累西腓Galo de Madrugada(意为黎明的公鸡)狂欢节游行队伍。

 

2016年的累西腓狂欢节盛况空前。frevo 舞者游走在巡游花车、freviocas和20多辆大型音乐卡车trios elétricos之间,250多万人跟随着当地原汁原味的音乐节拍狂热舞动

 

trio elétrico曾经不同凡响

1950年,歌手多多和奥斯玛将一辆改装敞篷老爷车开上街头,一边开车,一边播放音乐。

 

此后,在狂欢节期间trio elétrico音乐卡车(本意为电动三重奏)都是载着音乐家们驶向城市各个街道。

 

有史以来的第一辆音乐卡车Fobica,收藏在巴伊亚州的萨尔瓦多音乐屋内,供游客参观。

Being a movable date, the Brazilian Carnival can occur either in February or in March – it all depends on the date established by the Roman Catholic Church for the commemoration of Easter, and the resulting establishment of the date of Ash Wednesday.


Carnival Tuesday, which is the high point of the festivities and revelling, takes place the previous day and, based on this, all the festivities are organised accordingly, both in Brazil and abroad.


We now present some other interesting facts about the Brazilian Carnival, a big party that takes millions to the streets every year.


King Momus is losing weight

With the start of Carnival, in many cities and towns it is common for the keys to the city to be handed over by the Mayor to King Momus, an allegoric figure who shall technically “govern” the location during the festivities, beside his Queen of Carnival and two princesses.


This tradition comes from Ancient Rome, when a handsome soldier (later, the fattest man in town) was chosen to represent Momus, God of Laughter, and to be the host of the festivities during the Carnival period.


However, the former King Momus, still somewhat overweight to symbolise the plenty required by this date – there was a requirement to weigh at least 120 kilos to even run for the office – is now being gradually replaced by slimmer models, as part of campaigns against obesity.


Rio de Janeiro is in the Book of Records

Since 2004, the Rio de Janeiro Carnival has been in the Guinness Book of World Records as the largest street carnival in the world. During the days of festivities, there are 2 million people on average each day, on the streets of Rio de Janeiro.


In 2014 alone, the 5 million revellers who spent Carnival in Rio injected BRL 2 billion (USD 500 million) into the local economy.


The Carnival of Recife is also in the Guinness Book of World Records

Even though the Carnival in Rio de Janeiro is the most famous on an international scale, the title of the largest Carnival group in the world is in the hands of the Pernambucan group Galo de Madrugada, or Rooster of the Dawn.


In 2016, there were over 2.5 million happy souls dancing the local music beat, the frevo, and being part of this Recife carnival group which includes floats, freviocas and over 20 large musical trucks (trios elétricos).


The trio elétrico used to be something very different

In 1950, singers Dodô and Osmar adapted an open jalopy and took to the streets, playing songs while the car was driven by a driver.


Hence the term trio elétrico (literally, an electric trio) which plays that very same role, that of taking the musicians out to the city streets during Carnival.


The first ever such jalopy, known as Fobica, can be seen at the Music House, in the city of Salvador, State of Bahia.

Other News