在巴西非裔宗教坎东布莱教里,耶孟佳(Yemanjá”,也写作“Iemanjá”)是人们心目中的海洋女神和淡水女神。自古以来,渔民和水手都把她当作保护神。每年的2月2日,人们都会在巴西东北部巴伊亚州萨尔瓦多的红河海滩汇聚一堂,举行盛大的节日庆典,以示对耶孟佳的崇拜。

 

这一节日盛事始于1923年。当时沿海水域捕获的鱼明显减少,当地渔民忧心忡忡,觉得有必要祭祀海洋女神。于是发起了首次祭神活动,希望能博得女神欢心,赐予他们充足的鱼获,以及风平浪静的大海。

 

百万信众献礼

在节日前一天,庆祝活动往往就已开始:一般2月1日清晨6点,Z-1渔村百姓就会打开位于里约韦尔梅柳(红河)的耶孟佳宫,等待百万民众祭拜海洋女神耶孟佳。

 

据说,这位女神相当爱慕虚荣,经常以美人鱼的形象示人,为了取悦她,人们敬献的常常是香水、梳子、镜子、鲜花、香皂、珠宝首饰等。

 

很多人在献礼时,会许下美好的心愿,希望海洋女神保佑自己或亲朋好友。

 

仪式在Mother Aice的terrerio举行,terreiro是宗教活动场所,位于Engenho Velho da Federação。庆祝活动会一直持续到凌晨5点,届时会有精彩的焰火表演,以纪念当年坎东布莱教徒不远万里来到红河地区。

 

300艘船满载祭品驶向大海

城市的其他地方,还有百余个庆祝活动竞相登场。为确保盛会交通顺畅、人们出行平安,城中许多地区都会特地对道路进行交通管控。

 

这一天虽不是官方节日,但很多办事机构和店主,尤其是住在里约韦尔梅柳附近一带的人们都会停工歇业,尽享节日的快乐。

Every 2 February is the day to honour Yemanjá, also spelt Iemanjá, who is the orisha considered as the Queen of the Oceans and of fresh waters, in the African religion candomblé. For this reason, she is the protector of fishermen and sailors, who worship her with a major festival on the Red River Beach in the city of Salvador, State of Bahia.


This party was first held in 1923, when a significant shortage of fish led a group of fishermen to decide that it was necessary to honour the Queen of the Oceans, so that she would be happy and, in Exchange, offer plenty of fish and calm seas.


Presents are contributed by over 1 million faithful

The party Always starts the day before, on 1 February at 6 a.m. when the Yemanjá House, in the district of Rio Vermelho (Red River) is opened by the Z-1 fishing colony so that the throng of about one million people may pay tributary presents to Yemanjá.


As the Queen of the Oceans is seen as a woman of aesthetic, often being portrayed as a mermaid, the presents most commonly left for her include perfumes, combs, mirrors, soap, flowers and jewellery.


Many people also include, together with their presents, special notes with requests for blessings for themselves, relatives or friends.


The rituals take place throughout the dawn, at the terreiro (site of religious activity) of Mother Aice, at the venue known as Engenho Velho da Federação, until 5 a.m. when a firework display commemorates the arrival of the candomblé nations to the Red River.


300 boats take the presents to the open sea

At four o’clock in the afternoon, the 500-odd balaios (typical baskets) are full of presents and are then put in some 300 boats that set sail towards the sea. A main basket is prepared by the fishermen themselves and is placed at the front of the cortege, in the boat which is given the name of Red River (Rio Vermelho).


Reaching their destination, the balaios are left so that they may reach Yemanjá – the baskets must sink, otherwise this means that Yemanjá has not accepted them.



For those seeking the best views of this part of the festivities, we suggest finding a high point to see the cortege sailing out to the open sea.


Next, along the sea front around the Red River (Rio Vermelho), there is a profane festival known as the Washing of the Red River, which takes place with stalls offering typical food and drink, together with a lot of music and presentations of samba and capoeira dancing.


Over 100 corteges occur, also in other parts of the city, and traffic is changed in many parts of the town, to ensure greater convenience and security for the participants of the event.


The date is not an official Holiday, but many offices and shopkeepers, especially those in the neighbourhood of Rio Vermelho itself, close down during the day.

Other News