9月7日是巴西独立日,也叫做巴西国庆日(Dia da Pátria),纪念佩德罗一世(Pedro I)在圣保罗市Ipiranga区的 Ipiranga河岸结束了葡萄牙长达322年的殖民统治,成立巴西帝国。

 

在国庆日当天,巴西的大多数城市都举行巡游活动。每个城市自选一个巡游主题,巴西海陆空三军、公立学校、私立学校和民间机构也会参与 。

 

这天,大街上人山人海。装饰精美的彩车、军乐队、骑兵团、身着传统服饰的学生们沿街巡游,吸引着观众的眼球。举目四望,到处飘扬着巴西的黄绿色国旗,民众都充满自豪感。

 

在全国各地的纪念活动中,巴西首都巴西利亚无疑是最隆重的。这里,巡游的参与者还包括巴西总统、特别机动部队、Esquadrilha da Fumaça(专门进行特技飞行表演的空军中队)。巡游在巴西利亚市的內阁大道(Esplanade of Ministries)进行。

 

里约热内卢的巡游则是地面和空中同时进行。在市中心,装饰精美的彩车挤满瓦嘎斯总统大道(President Vargas Avenue)。在Barra da Tijuca这个高档郊区,海军水手和水兵也参与水上巡游,船队沿着瓜纳巴拉湾(Guanabara Bay)航行。

 

圣保罗的气氛颇似一场嘉年华。圣保罗的游行地点是在著名的森巴大道(Sambodrome)上,毗邻安年比展览中心 ( Anhembi Exhibition Hall ),参与巡游无需任何费用。约8,000人参与游行,观众大约30,000人。

 

在巴伊亚州萨尔瓦多市,人们在7月2日开始庆祝国庆。因为在1822年7月2日,巴西军队进攻巴伊亚州首府,从葡萄牙军队手中成功夺回这座城市。萨尔瓦多居民用隆重的节日纪念这一重大事件。

 

9月7日,萨尔瓦多也会举行游行。巴西军队也会参与这次游行。游行是从Campo Grande区开始,行至Castro Alves广场结束。每年有35,000人见证这一盛况。

Brazilian Independence Day, also known as the Nation’s Day (Dia da Pátria), is celebrated on 7 September. It commemorates the start of the Brazilian Empire, when Emperor Pedro I ended 322 years of Portuguese colonial rule, at a famous and iconic moment on the banks of the Ipiranga Stream, in the neighbourhood of the same name, in the city of São Paulo.

 

The seventh of September is a national holiday in Brazil, celebrated with patriotic parades in most Brazilian cities. Each municipality selects a theme for the show, which is also joined by the Brazilian Armed Forces, state and private schools, and civil institutions.

 

The streets fill up with people. Beautifully decorated floats, martial bands, cavalry regiments, and also the costumes of the students who march down the avenues catch the eye of the spectators. Wherever you look, you can see national pride brought out in the Brazilian flags, in green and yellow.

 

Out of all the commemorations throughout the country, the one in Brasília, Brazil’s capital, definitely stands out. In this city, the parade also has the presence of the President of Brazil, special motorised troops, and the Esquadrilha da Fumaça, which is an air squadron specialised in aerobatics. The parade takes place on the Esplanade of Ministries, in the city of Brasília.

 

In Rio de Janeiro, the parades take place on the ground and also at sea. In the city centre, decorated floats pack the iconic President Vargas Avenue. In the upmarket suburb of Barra da Tijuca, naval mariners and naval fusiliers also take part in the naval parade, which sails along the iconic Guanabara Bay.

 

In São Paulo, the atmosphere is akin to that of Carnival. The São Paulo parade takes place in the famous Sambodrome, beside the Anhembi Exhibition Hall, with free admittance. About 8,000 people are participating in the parade and an estimated 30,000 spectators.

 

In Salvador, in the state of Bahia, the Independence festivities start on 2 July. On this date, in 1822, the Brazilian troops invaded the Bahian capital and took back the city, which was then occupied by the Portuguese Army. The soteropolitanos (residents of Salvador) commemorate this occasion with a traditional festivity.

 

Salvador also has a parade on 7 September. This time with the participation of the Brazilian military, the parade takes place on the streets of the neighbourhood of Campo Grande, moving towards Castro Alves Square. Every year, it brings together about 35,000 people.