这是会令你永生难忘的一次游行。邦芬洗地节可称得上是完美体现罗马天主教和巴西坎东布莱教之间相互影响的庆祝仪式,这一点在巴西巴伊亚州首府萨尔瓦多表现得尤为突出。

 

邦芬洗地节这天主要会有200名身着传统服饰的巴伊亚女子站在邦芬教堂的楼梯上,这是罗马天主教在巴西的最神圣机构之一。

 

然而,这一天的庆祝活动还远不止于此。会有约200名女子,手捧满盛香叶泡制的香水花瓶água de cheiro和扫帚,会从海滩圣母原罪教堂一直走到邦芬教堂,中途还要攀登圣山,全程8公里(5英里),这一习俗自1773年一直沿袭至今。

 

在这每年一次的象征性信仰活动中,在她们左右会有众多跟随者、围观者、游客,甚至还有举行政治活动的政界人士。

 

庆祝活动始于强迫劳动

 

活动的起源却绝无任何诗意成分。在18世纪末,奴隶要被迫为邦芬教堂清洗楼梯,为随后举行的天主教庆典活动进行场地准备。

 

然而,和巴西非洲奴隶被迫从事的许多活动一样,这种最初具有惩罚和义务性质的行为很快得以美化,极富诗意地融入巴西的流行文化。

 

由于当初非洲奴隶不允许信仰自己的宗教,在这一特殊条件下,坎东布莱教的Oxalá水神庆典活动是要隐藏在邦芬主神像下面进行。

 

而且,正因为此,她们都身着白衣,因为这是与Oxalá神相关的颜色。虽然她们在清洗教堂的楼梯和中庭,但巴伊亚妇女会哼唱传统赞美诗,其中还伴随着非洲裔巴西人鼓点atabaques的声音。

 

洗地节之后的世俗聚会

 

庆祝活动一般都安排在星期四,低城街道上会设有传统食物的摊位。下午2时许,节奏博物馆还会上演巴西艺术家卡林赫斯•布朗主演的大型音乐剧,期间各地也会组织各式世俗的庆祝活动。

 

庆祝仪式包括始于早八点的游行,游行队伍会在中午时分到达邦芬教会。在此期间,邦芬教堂上午9点时,就会开始演唱宗教歌曲。在洗地节期间,教堂大门会保持关闭。

A cortège that you will never forget. This is how one can sum up the ceremony of the Washing of Bonfim, a celebration that perfectly demonstrates the interaction between Roman Catholicism and the Brazilian religion of Candomblé, which are so strongly present in Salvador, capital of the Brazilian State of Bahia.


The Washing of Bonfim consists, essentially, of the day when 200 Bahian women in traditional attire was the stairs of the Bonfim Church, which is one of the most sacred institutions of the Roman Catholic Church in Brazil.


However, the date is much more than this. There are some 200 women in all, that take into their hands a vase full of scented water, or água de cheiro – a mixture of scented leaves with water – and brooms since 1773, and walk a total of 8 kilometres (5 miles) from the Church of Our Lady of the Conception of the Beach to the Bonfim Church, climbing the Holy Hill.


They are accompanied by a procession of followers, onlookers, tourists and even politicians who are on a political campaign, in a symbolic act of faith that takes place every year.


The festivities started with forced labour


It all started in a way that was far from poetic. At the end of the 18th Century, slaves were required to wash the stairs of the Bonfim Church, to prepare the venue for the Catholic festivities that would soon follow.


However, like nearly everything that was forced upon the African slaves in Brazil, what was originally a form of punishment and an obligation was soon transformed into something beautiful and which was poetically incorporated into Brazilian popular culture.


This marked the appearance of the feast of the Waters of Oxalá, the Candomblé god who was hidden under the figure of the Lord of Bonfim in this particular case, as the African slaves were not allowed to follow their own religion.


And, for that very reason, they all wear white, which is the colour associated to Oxalá. While they wash the stairs and the atrium of the church, the Bahian women sing traditional hymns and are always accompanied by the sound of the atabaques, or Afro-Brazilian drums.


A profane party comes after the Washing


The event always happens on Thursdays, and is followed by a popular party with stalls and typical food, on the streets of the Lower City. There is also a big musical show at the Museum of Rhythm starting at 2 p.m., led by Bahian artist Carlinhos Brown, and also other profane festivities scattered throughout the region.


The programme consists of the start of the procession at 8 a.m., with the procession getting to the Bonfim church at noon. In the meantime, at the Bonfim Church, the show of religious songs starts early, at 9 a.m. During the Washing period, the Church doors remain closed.