4月21日是巴西的Tiradentes Day(革命英雄节)。这是巴西最重要的国民节日之一,也是一个全国性的节日。即使很多人在学校课堂上已经熟知这一节日的来历,还是有必要强调一下这个节日在巴西历史上的重大意义。

 

Tiradentes是谁?

若阿金·何塞·达·席尔瓦·泽维尔(Joaquim José da Silva Xavier),由于其业余牙医的工作而被人称为Tiradentes(拔牙者)。1746年泽维尔出生于米纳斯吉拉斯州庞巴尔农场,他拥有葡萄牙血统,但很早就失去了双亲,在他只有11岁的时候,由于债务也失去了所有的财产。

 

除了业余牙医的职业外,他还是一个家畜贩子、矿工、以及军事组织米纳斯吉拉斯州龙骑兵团的成员(Dragões de Minas Gerais)。正是由于最后这个角色,他开始接触反抗葡萄牙对巴西进行殖民统治的地下组织。

 

敏纳斯独立革命

当时,巴西仍处在葡萄牙国王的殖民统治之下,是葡萄牙最赚钱的海外殖民地之一。这不仅是因为巴西富有,还由于当时巴西向葡萄牙王室缴纳了很高的税额。不但如此,葡萄牙在免除了一位本土精英的米纳斯吉拉斯州州长的职位后,由葡萄牙法庭的亲信接任,新州长刚上任便制定了附加税税收制度。

 

根据这项制度决议,收税是强制性的,为确保按时收到税,甚至可以合法的使用逮捕等手段。这激怒了当地居民,尤其是富人群体,他们开始密谋对付葡萄牙王室。

 

 

 

Tiradentes是这场运动的领袖

由于卓越的表达能力和领袖气质,Tiradentes被选为本次抵抗运动的领导者。运动最初是在附加税收税日进行抗议,发布解放计划,并针对政府的逮捕行为发布声明。

 

该计划最终引起地方当局极大的关注,参与运动的34名成员均被逮捕,并被判处反叛葡萄牙王室的罪名。但是仅有Tiradentes被判处死刑,可能是因为他是唯一一个非本土精英人士 —— 其他人有的被放逐,有的被处以重罚。

 

Tiradentes成了敏纳斯独立革命烈士

1792年4月21日,Tiradentes被公开绞死,然后被肢解。他的头颅被放在公共广场上展示,他身体的其他部位被抛散于城市外面的荒郊野外,他的血液被用来记录死刑的执行过程,他的记忆和他的子孙遭到唾弃,他的房子被夷为平地,土地被洒上盐——土地变得寸草不生,一派荒凉。

 

今天,Tiradentes被巴西人视为保护人、敏纳斯独立革命的烈士。作为民族英雄,他的名字被写入国家与自由万神殿的金书中。

On 21 April, Tiradentes Day is commemorated in Brazil. This is one of the most important civic dates of the country and is a national holiday. Even though the date is more commonly remembered at schools, here it is worth stressing what this day means for the History of Brazil.


Who was Tiradentes?

Joaquim José da Silva Xavier, better known as Tiradentes (tooth-puller) for his profession as an amateur dentist, was born at the Pombal Farm in the state of Minas Gerais, in 1746. Of Portuguese origin, he lost both his parents very early, when he was only 11 years old, and also lost all his properties due to debts.


He was also a cattle drover, a miner, and member of the military division known as the Minas Gerais Dragoons (Dragões de Minas Gerais). It was in this last role that he started to have contact with groups that were fighting against Portuguese domination of Brazil.


The Inconfidência Mineira

At that time, Brazil was still under the colonial rule of the King of Portugal, as one of Portugal’s most profitable colonies. This, not only due to the country’s wealth, but also through the high taxes that were paid to the Crown. If this did not suffice, apart from removing a member of the local elite from the position of Governor of Minas Gerais, replacing him by a friend of the Portuguese Court, the derrama taxation system was introduced.


With this resolution, the collection of taxes was forced, and the use of arrest or other methods to ensure the receipt of what was due was also authorised. This infuriated the local population, especially the rich, who started to conspire against the Portuguese Crown.


Tiradentes led the movement

Due to his incredible capacity of rhetoric and his leadership spirit, Tiradentes was chosen as leader of the movement. This would initially be in the form of a protest on the day of the derrama tax, with the announcement of plans for liberation and the arrest of the Governor.


However, the plan ended up becoming known to local authorities, and the 34 members of the movement were arrested, on a charge of treason against the Portuguese Crown. However, Tiradentes was the only one sentenced to death, possibly as he was the only one who was not part of the local elite – the others were either exiled or given lax penalties.


Tiradentes became a martyr of the Inconfidência Mineira movement

Tiradentes was then strangled in public on 21 April 1792, then quartered, and his head was shown in a public square. The other parts of his body were scattered around the city, and his blood was used to sign the document for carrying out the sentence, while his memory and his descendants were considered as infamy, and his house was razed to the ground and had the land covered in salt, so that nothing would ever grow there.


Today, Tiradentes é considered a Civic Patron of Brazil, and the Martyr of the Inconfidência Mineira. His name is also in the Golden Book of the Pantheon of Country and Freedom, being considered a National Hero.

Other News