番石榴是一种热带水果,营养成分高、价格便宜、功效甚多、卡路里低,在巴西人的日常餐桌上很常见,这种水果几乎没有任何食用禁忌。

 

巴西共有两种番石榴。其中较受欢迎的是红心番石榴,这种番石榴的皮是黄色,里面的果肉是粉红色。另一种是白心番石榴,皮是绿色,果肉是灰白色,维生素C含量虽少,但钾含量非常丰富。因此,有建议运动员和孕妇食用白心番石榴。

 

番石榴不但可以生吃,还有合其它吃法,例如榨汁或制成果酱或冰淇淋。番石榴酱常常用作饼干馅。这种饼干一般在下午茶时与咖啡一同食用,或出现在儿童的生日派对上。番石榴甜品也叫做goiabada,在巴西非常流行,既可以自制,又可以买回家吃。

 

番石榴的主要功效包括:防止感染、防出血、强健骨骼、牙齿和心肌;抗氧化效果;调理消化系统。不建议肠胃虚弱的人食用番石榴,便秘者也要少吃。

 

番石榴的最佳食用时间是开始成熟时。这种水果在完全成熟时可能会丢失部分营养成分。买了回来的番石榴可保存在室温环境下或冰箱里。

A typical tropical fruit, the guava, being highly nutritious, inexpensive, versatile and low on calories, has a strong presence in the diet of the Brazilians. There are almost no restrictions on the consumption of this product.

 

There are two main varieties of guava in Brazil. The more popular of the two is the red guava, which has a yellow rind and is rosy on the inside. The white guava is also consumed in the country; with a green skin and pale-coloured pulp, this variety of guava has less vitamin C, but is very rich in potassium. For this reason, it is strongly recommended for sports people and pregnant women.

 

Apart from the consumption of the fruit in its natural state, guavas are also excellent to consume in other forms, such as juice, juice, jam, sweets and ice-cream. Guava paste is also commonly used as a filling for biscuits, mainly consumed in the afternoon, with coffee, and also at children’s birthday parties. The guava sweet known as goiabada is immensely popular, both in home-made and industrialised versions.

 

The main benefits of this fruit are its properties as an agent to tackle infection and haemorrhage; strengthen the bones, teeth and heart muscles. It is also famous for its antioxidant effect and its role as a regulator of the digestive system. Guava is not recommended for people who have a delicate gastrointestinal tract or those who have constipation.

 

The best time to consume a guava fruit is when it starts to ripen. When it is very ripe, the fruit may lose some of its nutrients. The fruit can be kept both at room temperature and in the refrigerator.