巴西简史

在16世纪欧洲殖民者到来之前,在巴西居住着土著和半游牧部族,主要依靠狩猎采集的生活方式生存。16世纪初,以葡萄牙为代表的欧洲第一批殖民者到达这里,在Pedro Álvares Cabral的指挥下,保卫巴西并进一步对抗他国侵略,一直持续到殖民统治在18世纪初的正式结束。

1600

巴西逐渐被建造成为一个有战略价值和经济价值的重镇,随着甘蔗产业在16世纪的繁荣,巴西经济基础开始成形。随着大型种植园的增加,非洲奴隶被引入到巴西,为当代巴西文化注入丰富的非洲影响力。由于巴西成为了公认的国际主要港口,在之后的150年历史中其他欧洲列强企图参与进巴西各个赚钱的产业里。法国殖民者在16世纪中叶企图进驻里约热内卢,在接下来的一个世纪,荷兰殖民者同样致力于沿东海岸进驻。由于葡萄牙成功建立了反对侵入的国防力量,在随后的时代中法国和荷兰对巴西的影响微乎其微。

1800

在18世纪,金矿在巴西的发现带来了前所未有的经济增长和国际利益,从而带来了欧洲其他大陆的显著移民浪潮。米纳斯吉拉斯州成为了开采黄金的中心地区,在1830年,巴西目睹了拉丁美洲最大金矿的开采。这是由英国领导和资助的,为巴西矿产业带来了革命和现代化,使之持续蓬勃发展到20世纪初。

1822

葡萄牙王室在1808年迁往里约热内卢,使巴西从前单纯的殖民地地位有所提升,葡萄牙和阿尔加维于1815年合并成葡萄牙王国。继葡萄牙国王的离开后,巴西在1822年展开独立战争并在不久后取得独立。巴西继续作为一个出口国家,并认识到其咖啡和橡胶产业的多样化发展,由此塑造和形成了巴西基础的经济格局。

1930

进入20世纪,巴西继续在全国范围内扩大农业发展和工业增长,而在政治上,它仍然经历着权力和结构的不断变化。经过1930年到1985年之间的多年的政治动乱,1985年巴西的解放结束几十年来的军事独裁统治,国家在1989年享受了第一次民主选举。今天,巴西代表了增长最快的新兴经济体之一 , 同俄罗斯,印度,中国,南非一同被成为金砖五国(BRICS),巴西同时拥有迷人的自然风光和现代化大都市繁华。

Brief History of Brazil

Prior to the arrival of European settlers in the 16th century, Brazil remained inhabited by indigenous, semi-nomadic tribes, subsisting off a primarily hunter-gatherer lifestyle. In the early 1500s, the Portuguese represented the first group of Europeans to arrive in the region, and under the command of Pedro Álvares Cabral, defended the region against further foreign invasions until the end of colonial rule in the early 18th century.


Brazil increasingly established itself as a valuable strategic and economic stronghold, beginning with the boom of the sugarcane industry in the 16th century, which formed the foundation of the Brazilian economy. With the increase in large plantations, African slaves were introduced to the land, contributing to the African rich influence in contemporary Brazilian culture. As Brazil became recognised as a major international port, the following 150 years of its history saw other European powers attempt to establish their presence in the profitable industries of the region. French colonists attempted to settle in Rio de Janeiro in the mid 16th century and again in the following century, and Dutch settlers similarly endeavoured to establish themselves along the Eastern coast. Due to the successful defence of the Portuguese establishment against invading powers, little French and Dutch influences were carried into the subsequent eras.


In the 18th century, the discovery of gold mines in Brazil led to unprecedented economic growth and international interest, drawing in significant migration from the rest of the continent. Minas Gerais became the centre for the mining of gold in the region, and in 1830, Brazil saw the opening of the largest gold mine in Latin America. This was led and funded by British leadership, revolutionising and modernising the Brazilian mining industry, which continued to flourish into the early 1900s.


The relocation of the Portuguese royal family to Rio de Janeiro in 1808 elevated Brazil beyond the status of a simple colony, and was united with Portugal and Algarves in 1815 to form the Kingdom of Portugal. Following the departure of the King of Portugal, Brazil achieved independence shortly afterwards, following the Independence War of 1822. The continuation of Brazil as an export nation saw the diversification of its products into coffee and rubber, shaping and forming the foundation of the economic landscape of Brazil.


Well into the 20th century, Brazil continued to expand its agricultural development and industrial growth throughout the region, while politically, it remained under the constant changing of powers and structures. After years of political unrest between 1930 and 1985, saw the liberation of Brazil from decades of military dictatorship in 1985, with the nation enjoying its first democratic election in 1989. Today, Brazil represents one of the fastest growing emerging economies — Brazil, Russia, India, China, South Africa (BRICS) — and flourishes with a unique balance of stunning natural beauty and bustling, modernized metropolitans.