里约热内卢的450年历史

拥有丰富的文化历史和著名的自然美景,里约热内卢凭其独特的风格得以繁荣发展。1502年葡萄牙人最初在此定居,里约在半个多世纪之后于1565年被建成,Baia Guanabara的天然港口被广泛承认是一个战略和经济据点。经过多年的领土战争,葡萄牙人最终驱逐法国殖民者在之后的200年中牢固树立了他们的存在性和影响力。在此时间内,里约热内卢成长为具有重要意义的港口,17世纪的繁荣的甘蔗行业欣欣向荣,为该地区带来财富。

1763

在18世纪初,里约热内卢经历了由于黄金和钻石的开采和蔓延造成的前所未有的变革。这吸引了来自欧洲大陆大量的移民,从而大大改变了城市的景观文化和种族构成。通过经济增长和人口多元化,里约从殖民地区成长为一个不可缺少的地域重镇,于1763年取代萨尔瓦多成为巴西的首都。

1808

糖市场日益激烈的竞争和黄金钻石库的逐渐消耗引发了经济的衰退,随后,葡萄牙王室再次安家和巴西咖啡产业的涌现使得里约在1808年再次迎来了繁荣。这标志了里约热内卢在文化和建筑景观方面变化的开端。其中,在现代化基础设施上的投资显著增加:新修的光亮道路和乡村别墅,以适应不断增长的中产阶级。文化的蓬勃体现在新兴的艺术机构,包括皇家出版社,皇家图书馆,圣约翰剧院和美术学院的设立。葡萄牙王室在1821年离开后,里约已经开始作为一个繁华的,现代化的城市蓬勃发展。次年,巴西取得独立,里约开始文化和经济复兴的又一阶段,并被命为新成立的共和国首都。

1920

在整个19世纪,巴西产业从出口咖啡和糖到棉花和橡胶逐渐多元化。关键基础设施如巴西铁路,轮船服务也逐渐现代化,实现简化贸易工作。在本世纪末,里约已成为全球最大的城市之一,它从一个农业社会城市转型成为工业社会城市。在如此大经济增长势头的驱动下,里约在1920年拥有超过百万的人口。那时,里约的旅游业也开始蓬勃发展,力图将里约建立成为国际游客的主要目的地,游客们希望体验这个繁华的大都市深刻丰富的独特韵味。

2016
作为2016年奥运会的举办城市,里约将带着无限活力走向未来,同时保留其作为世界最美丽的城市之一的美誉。

Rio de Janeiro - A city with 450 Years of History

Rich in cultural history and renowned for its natural beauty, Rio de Janeiro flourishes with a unique flair. Settled initially by the Portuguese in 1502 and established over half a century later in 1565, the natural port of Baia Guanabara was widely acknowledge as a strategic and economic stronghold. Following years of war over the territory, the Portuguese expelled French colonialists to firmly establish their presence and influence in the area throughout the following 200 years. Within this time, Rio de Janeiro grew to become a port of major significance, thriving under the boom of the sugarcane industry in the 17th century, bringing in an influx of wealth to the region.

1763

At the start of the 18th century, Rio de Janeiro underwent an unprecedented transformation resulting from the initiation and spread of gold and diamond mining. This drew a heavy migration of people from the European continent and thereby significantly altered the cultural and ethnic landscape of the city. Through economic expansion and demographic diversification, Rio grew from a colonial establishment to an indispensable geographical stronghold, replacing Salvador as the capital of Brazil in 1763.

1808

Following an economic decline due to increasing competition in the sugar market and depleting gold and diamond reservoirs, Rio enjoyed prosperity again after the resettlement of the Portuguese royal family and the emergence of the Brazilian coffee industry in 1808. This marked the beginnings of a remarkable cultural and architectural transformation in the landscape of Rio, with significant increase in investment in modern infrastructure, the paving of new, lit roads and country houses to accommodate the growing middle class. Cultural vitalisation came in the form of novel establishments for the arts including the Royal Press, the Royal Library, the Theatre of Saint John, and the Academy of Fine Arts. After the departure of the Portuguese royal family in 1821, Rio had begun to flourish as a bustling, modernised city. The following year, Brazil achieved independence and Rio saw yet another phase of cultural and economic rejuvenation, and was named as the capital of the newly established Republic.

1920

Throughout the 19th century, Brazilian industry diversified and extended beyond coffee and sugar to cotton and rubber. Critical infrastructure such as the Brazilian Railway and the initiation of steamship services were also modernized and worked towards streamlining trade. By the end of the century, Rio had become one of the largest cities in the world and had been transformed from a largely agricultural society to one of industrial might. With this considerable economic momentum, Rio headed into the 20th century in full swing, exceeding 1 million inhabitants by 1920. At that time the tourism industry in Rio began to flourish, establishing Rio as a prime destination for international visitors who were seeking to experience the unique flavour of a bustling metropolis so profoundly rich in worldly influence.

2016

As the host of the 2016 Olympic Games, Rio heads into the coming years with undeniable vitality, while retaining its reputation as one of the most beautiful urban centers of the world.