里约热内卢狂欢节是巴西最著名的庆祝活动。因此,可以想见,盼着参加桑巴舞游行的人们,都在迫不及待要身穿节日盛装,踏上Marquês de Sapucaí大道。设想一下,如果有朝一日你被选中担当整场演出最重要的角色——鼓点女王,那是何等的荣耀。这是所有的桑巴舞者中最著名的角色,只有最善良、美丽而且桑巴舞技samba no pé最高超的舞者才能获此殊荣。

 

所以当伊夫林·巴斯托斯得知自己被巴西最著名的桑巴舞学校Estação Primeira de Mangueira桑巴学校选为鼓点女王,这位里约Mangueira社区的女孩的激动心情自然会溢于言表。

 

她是土生土长的Mangueira山区居民,从很小的时候就爱上桑巴舞,把桑巴舞学校视作生命。小学还没毕业时,她就曾当选Mangueira do Amanhã的鼓点女王,(明天Mangueira学校,是Mangueira的青年桑巴学校),由此可以看出,她前途不可限量。如今,22岁的她会第三次带领著名的彩虹学校的鼓队出征。与此同时,她还在里约热内卢州立大学(UERJ)体育教育系深造,因此一直都在努力平衡训练和大学学业之间的关系。

 

桑巴和传统:一脉相承

 

将桑巴舞传统演绎到尽善尽美绝对是这个家庭的素来传统。母亲瓦雷利亚·巴斯托斯在1987年到1989年间,也曾是Mangueira的鼓点女王。此外,她年仅十岁的妹妹艾米琳于去年12月在桑巴舞学校举办的比赛中获奖,在2016年里约热内卢狂欢节中,还不得走在彩虹学校小鼓手的前列。

 

伊夫林·巴斯托斯作为桑巴舞者的成功职业生涯中,已经将几项大奖收入囊中。2012年,在巴西最重要的电视台巴西环球电视台的Caldeirão do Huck节目中,她当选缪斯女神,随后的2013年,她被选为狂欢节女王。她认为自己的成功源自极大的付出和辛勤工作。当狂欢节临近时,她每天只有三小时睡眠时间。同时,她还要严格控制饮食,而这绝非易事。

 

Mangueira是里约热内卢最著名也是最传统的桑巴舞学校之一。Estação Primeira de Mangueira学校的创建者后来在里约热内卢桑巴舞界相当著名,如卡托拉和纳尔逊·卡瓦昆霍。即便如此,学校自2002年起就未能在里约热内卢狂欢节夺冠,这只能令身为鼓手团长的伊夫林·巴斯托斯倍感责任重大。

 

鼓点女王的使命是要鼓励众鼓手在游行队伍中做出卓越表现,并得到看台观众的参与。鉴于Mangueira学校的鼓手在2015年并未夺冠,今年伊芙琳的闪亮登场表现能否带领鼓手取得不俗战绩,大家拭目以待。

The Rio de Janeiro Carnival is the most world-famous of Brazil’s festivities. Therefore, one would expect that the moment of donning one of those costumes and stepping onto Marquês de Sapucaí Avenue would be long awaited by all those who participate in the samba parade. Imagine then if you are chosen to take on one of the most important posts of the whole show, that of Queen of the Drums, the most famous of all the samba dancers, chosen for her friendliness, beauty and also that samba skill known as samba no pé.


So it is to be expected that emotion also took over Evelyn Bastos when she was chosen as the Queen of the Drums of one of Brazil’s most famous samba schools: the Estação Primeira de Mangueira samba school, from the Mangueira neighbourhood in Rio.


She was born and bred right in the heart of the Mangueira Hill, and from a very early age showed that samba dancing and also the samba school were her life. She was Queen of the Drums at the Mangueira do Amanhã (Mangueira of Tomorrow, Mangueira’s youth samba school), showing what she could do even before finishing primary school. Now 22 years old, she shall lead the drums of the famous pink-and-green school for the third time, this being a career which she manages to conciliate with her University course in Physical Education at the State University of Rio de Janeiro (UERJ).


Samba and reign: a family tradition


The tradition of dancing the samba to perfection definitely runs in the family. Her mother, Valéria Bastos, was also the Queen of the Drums at Mangueira herself between 1987 and 1989. In addition, her sister Emelyn, aged only 10, won a contest run by the samba school in December and shall not be at the front of the junior drummers of the pink-and-green school at the Rio de Janeiro Carnival in 2016.


Evelyn Bastos already has several awards under her belt in her successful career as a samba dancer. She was elected the muse of the ‘Caldeirão do Huck’ programme of TV Globo, Brazil’s most important television station, in 2012; the following year, in 2013, she was voted the Queen of Carnival. She puts her success down to a lot of dedication and hard work. When Carnival draws near, she gets to sleep only three hours a day. She also sticks to a strict diet, which gets to be stressful at times.


Mangueira is one of the most famous and most traditional samba schools in Rio de Janeiro. The Estação Primeira de Mangueira school was founded by some people who would later become famous in Rio de Janeiro samba, such as Cartola and Nelson Cavaquinho. Even so, the school has not won the Rio Carnival since 2002, which only increases Evelyn Bastos’ responsibilities at the head of the drummers.


The purpose of the Queen of the Drums is to encourage the group of drummers to give their best during the parade, and also to get the spectators in the stands involved. As the drummers of the Mangueira school did not get any top marks in 2015, now one must just wait and see if Evelyn’s brightness will captivate the drummers this year.

Other News