在最受巴西年轻妈妈关注的政策中,有一条法规最终得到落实:巴西标准化及工业质量局(简称INMETRO)规定,任何有托盘和没有托盘的高脚椅(婴儿餐桌椅)都必须接受巴西INMETRO认证的强制检查。

 

这一举措不仅针对餐桌椅,还包括其它不同功用的婴儿用品,诸如:婴儿板凳、学步车、婴儿车、摇篮、安全座椅及躺椅等等。

 

巴西INMETRO认证将对全巴西境内的婴儿用品店进行仔细地抽检,以确保父母在使用产品时多一层放心。这项规定最终出台是因为,2009年曾接连发生了三起重大安全事故。事故涉及产品质量问题和几个未经授权非法经营的品牌。由此政府机构展开了对这些产品的调查和检测。由于“餐桌椅”也存在质量安全问题,巴西的政府机构也将它列入了强制检查的产品名单中。

 

认证保障使用安全

现在,有了认证标准,餐桌椅生产商得以有效杜绝有害材料的使用,并添加了安全带这一防护措施,使餐桌椅结构更稳固结实。这些举措使产品获得相关部门的认可,由此质量更有保证。另外,值得注意的是餐桌椅的折叠方式也有调整:对那些得凭一人之力照顾孩子的人来说,这简直就是福音——因为在双手抱着孩子时,就可以轻松的将椅子收起。

 

在官方声明提出三年之后,这一准则才正式生效。其用意是为了给国内制造业以充足的时间来改进自己的产品,调整并适应新的规则。这一准则还规定,在未经巴西INMETRO认证许可的情况下,任何公司或个人若非法销售、运输餐桌椅或涉足这一领域,政府将根据其违法程度和公司规模对相关责任单位进行如下制裁:警告处分,没收产品,进行从1万到150万雷亚尔不等的罚款。

 

事故与无证产品应予曝光

目前为止,巴西已有25种获得认证的产品。在发现未经巴西INMETRO认证的产品后,任何人都可以通过致电机构检察员或直接登录机构官网,对相关产品进行举报。使用餐桌椅时若发生意外,公众也可以向Sinmac(INMETRO机构内部的一种消费安全事故监管系统)曝光相关产品。

 

即便如此,时任DPAC(巴西INMETRO机构下属的项目评估部门)部门代理负责人马科斯·博尔赫斯表达了自己的不同立场。在一次接受巴西知名新闻媒体《环球报》的采访中,他警告说:“这种产品只有在成人监护下才能使用。尽管,政府近期的举措已有效地提高了婴幼儿产品的安全系数,但最为关键的是:婴幼儿在使用餐桌椅时必须得有家长陪同看护。”同时,他还表示许多酒吧饭店中的座椅并没有获得必要的认证,这一点应当引起足够重视。

One of the measures most awaited by mothers of small children has finally taken effect. The seal of the Brazilian National Metrology, Quality and Technology Institute (INMETRO) is now mandatory for high chairs for babies (those used at meal times), with or without trays.

 

This measure is also valid for the models that fit in tables, and also other items that can be used for different functions, including low chairs, strollers, prams, cradles, car seats, and reclining chairs, among others.

 

INMETRO shall be making inspection visits to shops throughout Brazil to ensure use of the seal which brings additional peace of mind to the parents. This is because, in 2009, an inspection was carried out by the organisation after three serious accidents involving the product, and none of the brands analysed was approved by the institution. Because of this very poor performance, feeding chairs were included in the list of products with compulsory certification in Brazil.

 

Seal ensures security of baby chairs

Now, with the seal, there is the guarantee that the baby chair has been approved in terms of several security items, such as the absence of toxic materials and the presence of belts, structure and stability which can avoid accidents. Another point that is taken into account is the method of closing the chair during use, which is particularly important in the case of children under the care of only one person – who needs another hand to hold the baby while the chair is closed.

 

The standards now take effect after 3 years being given so that the manufacturers may adapt the products to the new regulations. Anyone caught selling, importing or distributing baby chairs without the INMETRO seal shall be liable to several kinds of penalties: a warning, seizure of the product, and a fine ranging from BRL 100.00 to BRL 1.5 million, depending on the seriousness of the violation and the size of the company.

 

Accidents and sealless products should be reported

Currently there are 25 certified products. Anyone who notices any product without the INMETRO seal can make a tip-off by calling the Ombudsman or directly on the institution’s website. Accidents that may occur during the use of a feeding chair can also be reported through the INMETRO System for Monitoring of Consumption Accidents (Sinmac).

 

Even so, “this is the type of product that needs the supervision of an adult. Even though the recent changes have made them more secure, the fact is that the child must never be left alone in the chair without supervision”, warns Marcos Borges, the substitute head of the Department for Programmes of Appraisal of Compliance at INMETRO, in an interview to prestigious Brazilian newspaper O Globo. He also says that attention must be stepped up in bars and restaurants, where the chairs are not necessarily certified.