在世界其他国家看来,桑巴舞曲应该是巴西最知名的音乐风格。这种音乐如今非常流行,其实当初是被葡萄牙殖民者贩卖到巴西的非洲黑奴,用足尖和歌喉创造而成。

 

桑巴舞作社交方式而出

 

没有人真正知道桑巴舞第一次出现是在何时何地,甚至桑巴缘何得名也无从知晓。从字面来看,这个词是非洲语 “semba” 即非洲舞蹈“umbigada”的变体,也意味着桑巴舞可以有多种跳法。

 

其实,当初来自非洲大陆不同地区的奴隶无法使用口头语言,也没有乐器,需要进行社交,而直接产生了桑巴 — 一切都是依靠敲打可用物件形成所谓batuques节拍而浑然天成。

 

为此,如今在巴西各地会有多种不同形式的桑巴,因为每个人群都会创建自己的音乐和艺术表现形式。

 

在国际舞台上,所有形式中最著名的要数城市桑巴,这是在20世纪初,在里约热内卢形成的舞蹈形式。在里约热内卢和圣保罗的狂欢节期间,在桑巴舞学校的游行队伍中,可以经常看到这种舞蹈。其他知名的桑巴包括samba de roda和samba de gafieira (是双人结对的舞蹈)。

 

桑巴是不仅仅是桑巴:是波萨诺

 

然而,桑巴确立其精英节奏的地位是由于受到了爵士乐的影响,另一种非常著名的巴西音乐形式波萨诺瓦也是在桑巴的基础上发展而来的,美国著名歌星弗兰克·辛纳屈演绎的波萨诺瓦《伊帕内玛姑娘》又有谁人不知呢?

 

但不要被桑巴舞简单的大众化起源所误导。这种舞蹈形式对体能的要求很高,需要大量的排练才能将舞蹈演绎的尽善尽美。所以尽管人们喜欢也希望自己能一显身手,但并非所有的巴西人都能完美演绎桑巴。然而,大部分人还是会尝试几个桑巴舞步,在狂欢节期间更是如此。

 

此外,在巴西游玩期间,还是可以学到些许桑巴舞技,很多地方将会很乐意帮助你一试身手。由于桑巴舞有多种变化,也许其中会有特别适合你的选择。

 

首先,你应该记住桑巴是为了建立新联系,忘却悲伤,广交朋友而产生的,并不是为了培养超级舞者。为此,尽可放下包袱,参加这个狂欢聚会,近距离体会这种真挚的文化表达,而且哪怕作为观众,桑巴也着实令人赞叹。

Samba is possibly the style of Brazilian music that is best known in other countries. This is a popular creation, born in the feet and in the voice of the African slaves who were brought over to Brazil by Portuguese colonists. You will read a bit more about this captivating rhythm below.


Samba arose as a way of socialization


No-one really knows where or how samba first appeared, or even where the name comes from. It appears that the word is a variation of the African term ‘semba’ which means ‘umbigada’, an African dance, and a reference to one of the many ways of dancing the samba.


The truth is that the samba was a direct result of the need of African slaves coming from different parts of the continent to socialise without using the spoken word and without the possession of instruments – everything happened at the beat of any available object, the so-called batuques.


For this reason, samba nowadays has so many different variants scattered around Brazil, as each group has created its own form of musical and artistic expression.


Possibly the most famous of all the formats, on the international stage, is urban samba which came into existence in Rio de Janeiro at the beginning of the 20th Century and which can be abundantly seen during the parades of the samba schools during Carnival, both in Rio de Janeiro and in São Paulo. Other styles that are very well known are the samba de roda and samba de gafieira (in which people dance in pairs).


Samba is more than just samba: it is bossa nova


However, samba acquired its status of a rhythm of the élites when it was influenced by jazz and also served as a base on which the bossa nova came into being, this being another extremely famous style of Brazilian music – who has never heard of The Girl from Ipanema, that has even been sung by Frank Sinatra?


Do not be misled by the simple and popular origins of samba. This is a style of dance that demands a lot of physical fitness and also many hours of rehearsal so that it may be executed to perfection. This is why not all Brazilians can dance the samba as they would like to or as they should – however, most of them will try out a few samba steps, mainly during Carnival.


In addition, it is always possible to learn something during a visit to Brazil and many places will be very happy to help you try. As samba has several variations, maybe one of them could be a suitable option for you.


Above all, you should always remember that samba was created with the aim of creating new ties, keeping sadness away and making new friends, and not to create superdancers. For this reason, you should not be afraid of taking part in this party and closely appreciating a cultural expression that is genuine and also a wonder to watch.

Other News