潘塔纳尔马托格罗索国家公园位于巴西的马托格罗索州和南马托格罗索州交界处,同时还包括了玻利维亚和巴拉圭的部分地区。公园占地13.5万平方公里,它所在的潘塔纳尔湿地总面积为25万平方公里,是世界著名的广阔无垠的涝原,生长在那里的植物和动物种群的多样性状态令人难以置信的

 

正是基于此以及其他相关原因,这个地区被联合国教科文组织列为世界自然遗产和生态护区,这里也是全球最多样化的生态系统之一。

 

该地区有五个月的洪水淹没期

潘塔纳尔湿地实质上是平原地形,山丘和凹谷少之又少,最高海拔不超过200米。

 

在每年10月到2月之间的雨季,土地已经被完全浸没,你几乎不可能通过陆路在该地区旅游。巴拉圭河及其支流水域决堤时,如汪洋大海般取代了陆地风光,因此也造就了该地区不可思议的生物多样性。

 

雨季淤积出的沙质壤和黏质壤已经不适合农业种植了,潘塔纳尔湿地的土壤在雨季之外的月份里保持干燥,成为极好的放牧区,放牧也是唯一被允许在马托格罗索国家公园外围进行的活动。

 

巴西潘塔纳尔湿地的植物和动物

到目前为止,许多物种已被称为潘塔纳尔湿地的“原住民”:652种鸟类、122种哺乳动物、263种鱼类、480种爬行动物以及1132个不同种类的蝴蝶。

 

目前,该地区发现的濒临灭绝的物种包括:令人印象深刻的斑点豹,身长可达2米,体重可达160公斤;沼泽鹿,喜欢在白天活动,是一个优秀的游泳健将;巨大的蓝色金刚鹦鹉,仅有的一只时有出没,这种鹦鹉最高可达1.4米;还有裸颈鹳,这是一种候鸟,它被称为是潘塔纳尔湿地的标志,最高可达1米。

 

潘塔纳尔湿地其他著名的物种还包括巴西巨型水獭、水豚、鬃狼、食蚁兽、树懒,以及蟒蛇、水蟒及不同种类的蛇。该地区还盛产鱼类,尤其是水虎鱼、淡水鲳鱼、巴西鲶鱼和剑鱼。

 

 

潘塔纳尔湿地还有树木、花卉草药等丰富的植物资源,它们分别来自亚马逊流域、巴西稀树大草原(塞拉多)、巴西旱生灌木林生物群系(卡廷加)、玻利维亚查科和大西洋雨林等典型区域。最常见的树种包括喇叭树、无花果树和棕榈树。

The Pantanal Matogrossense National Park is on the border between the Brazilian states of Mato Grosso and Mato Grosso do Sul, and also includes parts of Bolivia and Paraguay. Taking up 135 thousand of the 250 kilometres total area of the Pantanal region, this is the largest continuous expanse of floodplain in the world, and is home to an incredible diversity of plant and animal life.


It was for this and for other reasons that this region is considered by UNESCO to be World Natural Heritage and a Biosphere Reserve, as one of the most diverse ecosystems on the whole planet.


The area is flooded for five months

The Pantanal is essentially a flat area with very few hills and many depressions. The maximum altitude is never more than 200 metres above sea level.


During the rainy season, from October to February, it is almost impossible to travel around the region by land, as the land is totally soaked up. The waters of the Paraguay River and its tributaries burst their banks, taking over the landscape and allowing the maintenance of the incredible biodiversity of the region.


After this period, the local soil, which is sandy and clayey and hence not suitable for agricultural use, becomes excellent for cattle grazing in the areas that remain dry for the rest of the year – an activity which is only allowed outside the National Park itself.


Plant and Animal Life of the Brazilian Pantanal 

So far, many species have been catalogued as being inhabitants of the Pantanal: 652 species of birds, 122 of mammals, 263 of fish, 480 of reptiles, and 1132 different species of butterflies.


Among the species found in the region that are now at risk of extinction are the impressive spotted panther which can reach a length of 2 metres and weigh 160 kilos; the marsh deer, an excellent swimmer with daytime habits; the giant blue macaw, one of the last still seen and the largest of its species with up to 1.40 metres; and the jaburu or cauauá, a migratory bird that is a symbol of the Pantanal and which measures as much as 1 metre in height.


Other famous residents of the area include the Brazilian giant otter, the capybara, the maned wolf, the anteater and the sloth, as well as several species of snakes, including the boa constrictor and the anaconda. The Pantanal area is also rich in fish, especially piranhas, pacus, Brazilian catfish and dorados, among others.


In terms of plant life, in the region we can find trees, plants and herbs, both those typical of the area as others coming from other parts of the country such as Amazonia, the Brazilian savanna (Cerrado), the Brazilian xeric shrubland biome (Caatinga), the Bolivian Chaco and the Atlantic Rainforest. The species of trees that are most common in the area include the trumpet tree, the fig tree and palm trees.

Other News