谷歌地球在新技术和传统民族讲习班期间,对亚马逊地区30个巴西原住民小组和传统社区进行培训,教会他们如何使用卫星图像和移动电话应用程序,运用这种工具,来应对当前所面临的两大危机:盗伐林木者和其他入侵者破坏当地生态系统的程度。

 

通过谷歌地球功能,他们可以绘制文化地图,也能监测领地动态,然后准备将这一技术用于领地监测。卡宁德民族环境保护协会在巴西朗多尼亚州韦柳港举办了为期六天的活动。

 

这项建议是由巴西原住民酋长阿尔米尔·苏瑞提出

 

此项建议是巴西原住民首领阿尔米尔·苏瑞提出的,这位苏瑞派特部落酋长使用世界领先的互联网服务训练数百名巴西原住民。这一设想取得了巨大成功,并得到其他巴西原住民首领的积极响应,此举还导致谷歌决定将项目规模继续扩大,将quilombolas (生活在特别保护区quilombos的非洲奴隶后裔)和割胶人也包括在内。

 

这次研讨会还得到巴西大自然化妆用品公司的大力支持,公司为项目捐赠了30台笔记本电脑和60部智能手机。经过这次培训,巴西原住民可以通过卫星自己监视其领地的状况,而不必依赖于外部的帮助,甚至无需政府插手。由于省去了中间环节,这可以确保巴西原住民社区在更大程度上实现自治,也可以更快地解决可能出现的问题。

 

依照《巴西原住民领地和环境管理的民族政策》(PNGATI)的精神,应该将谷歌地球的虚拟地球数字工具用于支持领地管理工作。经过此项训练,原住民社区可以绘制地图,生成影响报告,同时可以通过更高效和实用的方式进行处理。

 

开展小组培训,学习监测和绘制地图

 

在谷歌地球讲习班期间,已有两个小组接受培训。第一小组根据谷歌地球平台的地图构建方法,参加了文化地图讲习班。因此,他们也可对地图进行修改,可以补充其部落和社区的文化传统,比如神话传说和民族习俗,以及渔猎方式等相关内容。

 

第二小组侧重于监测,参与者可以学习如何准备表格和问卷调查,以及如何通过智能手机来收集数据。谷歌地球期望这项技术应用能得到进一步发展,在巴西和世界其他地区都能得到广泛应用。

Google Earth has trained 30 Native Brazilian groups and traditional communities of the Amazon Region during the Workshop on New Technologies and Traditional Peoples. They are learning how to use satellite images and mobile telephone applications as a tool against two of the main dangers that they have faced: the progress made by woodcutters and other invaders who have been destroying the local ecosystem.

 

Through the features of Google Earth, they can make the cultural mapping and also the monitoring of their territories, and shall then be ready to use the technology available for territorial surveillance. The event was held over six days at the Kanindé Association of Ethnoenvironmental Defence, in the city of Porto Velho, State of Rondônia.

 

This proposal was the brainchild of Native Brazilian leader Almir Suruí

 

The proposal was started by the Native Brazilian cacique Almir Suruí, of the Paiter-Suruí tribe, who used the world leader in Internet services to train hundreds of Native Brazilians. The idea was a great success, and he was followed by other Native Brazilian leaders, and this led Google to decide to expand the project to include quilombolas (descendants of African slaves living in special reserves called quilombos) and rubber tappers.

 

This workshop also had the support of Brazilian cosmetics company Natura, which donated 30 laptop computers and 60 smartphones for the Project. After this training, the Native Brazilians could monitor their territories themselves, by satellite, without having to depend on external help, not even from the Government. This assures greater autonomy to the Native Brazilian community and also greater speed in the solution of possible problems, as the action of a middleperson is no longer necessary.

 

Digital tools of the Google Earth virtual globe shall be used in support of management of territories, following what has been suggested by the National Policy of Territorial and Environmental Management of Native Brazilian Lands (PNGATI). The communities thus trained may create maps, generate impact reports, and also make denouncements in a much more efficient and practical way.

 

Groups have been trained in monitoring and map creation

 

Two groups were trained during the Google Earth workshop. The first group participated in a workshop on cultural mapping, based on a methodology of construction of maps through the Google Earth platform. Thus, they may also make additions to the maps, including any content that is of cultural interest to their tribes and communities, such as legends, traditions, and also practices when hunting and fishing.

The second group has been focused on monitoring, and allowed the participants to learn how to prepare forms and questionnaires, and also how to make it feasible to collect data through smartphones. Google Earth expects that the use of this technology expands and starts spreading to other parts of Brazil and also of the world.