波西·福西特(Percy Fawcett)和亚马逊之谜

 

 

没有人会否认亚马逊地区(人们更熟悉的名字是亚马逊流域)确实存在不解之谜。但事实上,一些对这类谜团的痴迷之情是人为引发的。英国探险家波西·福西特(Percy Fawcett)就属于此例。福西特在1925年在雨林中失踪。他的故事如此令人着迷,以至于成为《失落之城Z:关于亚马逊的致命痴迷的故事》一书的主题,也被拍成了电影《失落之城Z》,导演是詹姆士·格雷(James Gray)(曾执导《我们拥有夜晚》和《两个情人》)执导,制片人是布拉德·皮特(Brad Pitt),主演是查理·汉纳姆(Charlie Hunnam)(曾出演《混乱之子》)和罗伯特·帕丁森(Robert Pattinson)(曾出演《暮光之城》系列电影)。

 

波西·福西特生于英国南部的德文郡(Devon),于1906年受英国皇家地理学会(Royal Geographical Society)的请求,首次踏足巴西领土对亚马逊地区进行地图绘制。他在这个地区呆了18个月,当时被认为是伟大的壮举,因为那时候这个地区大多数不友善的未知地域。

 

在这次探险中,福西特先生发现一份匿名的用葡萄牙语书写的羊皮纸。这份羊皮纸于1753年书写,提到巴西偏远内陆的一座神秘城市。这份文件,加上他与巴西土著的交谈,似乎表明了这座城市的确切位置。巴西土著还向他保证,这座城市完全由黄金和宝石打造而成。那时,Eldorado 王国和Atlantis岛屿之类的传说甚嚣尘上,难怪福西特先生会认为快要找到他自己称之为“Z”的福地。

 

回到英格兰后,福西特花了几年时间试图募集资金,以支持自己在这块巴西领土上进行第二次探险。然而没有人相信这座神秘之城的存在。1925年初,他最终获得资助,但所获的资金较小。于是他决定限制探险队的规模,最终探险队成员只有他自己、儿子杰克(Jack),以及儿子的好友Raleigh Rimell。

 

这三个人在马托格罗索州(Mato Grosso)的库亚巴(Cuiabá)乡镇开始了征程,从那里出发前往欣古河上游(Upper Xingu River)。起初,他们有向导队的帮助。但福西特开始怀疑向导们可能有阴谋,所以他解雇了这支向导队。然后,他们独自在森林中行走,走过一村又一村,失踪之前曾被巴西土著部落Kalapalo瞧见。没有人知道这支英国探险队发生了什么。广为流传的猜测包括:他们被谋杀了;被野兽吃了;被昆虫咬死了;饥渴至死。

 

在最后一次联系妻子时,福西特吩咐她:如果他们失踪,不要派遣任何人前来寻找。尽管如此,人们还是组织了几支探险队前往寻找这三位英国探险家。但是,为解开这个谜团而作的所有努力都失败了。在寻找福西特的过程中,又有大约100位探险人员死亡,其中有三支探险队也是在这三位英国探险家最后出现的地区失踪。

 

失踪人员包括好莱坞演员Winton Jones,他于1930年组织了探险队。巴西土著部落Camaiurá最后瞧见他裸身坐在独木舟上,神志失常。

 

关于波西·福西特在巴西到底发生了什么,流传着许多传说。有人认为,他失忆了并与食人族生活在一起;有人发誓说,这三人变成了隐士;有人声称,这三人发现了Z这座神秘之城但不被允许回来,这样城市地址就不会泄露;甚至还有人乐观地认为,福西特当上了自己所发现之Eldorado王国的国王。

No-one doubts that there are indeed mysteries in the Amazon Region, better known as Amazonia, but the fact is that some people create real obsessions in this regard. This was the case with the British explorer Percy Fawcett, who ended up vanishing in the middle of the rainforest in 1925. Fawcett’s story is so fascinating and intriguing that it was the subject of David Grann’s book ‘The Lost City of Z: A Tale of Deadly Obsession in the Amazon”,  that was  also made into a film, “The Lost City of Z”, produced by Brad Pitt and starring Charlie Hunnam (Sons of Anarchy) and Robert Pattinson (of the Twilight saga), under the direction of James Gray (We Own the Night and Two Lovers).

 

Born in the county of Devon, in Southern England, Percy Fawcett set foot on Brazilian soil for the first time in 1906, when he came to map the Amazon region at the request of the Royal Geographical Society. He stayed in the area for 18 months, something that was considered a major feat for the time, as the location was mostly inhospitable and unknown.

 

During this expedition, Mr Fawcett found an anonymous Portuguese parchment, dated from 1753, which mentioned a magical city deep in the interior of Brazil. Apart from obtaining the paper document, the explorer also conversed with Native BraziliansBrazilians who lived in the forest and these apparently showed him the exact location of the city. The Native Brazilians also assured him that this city was made entirely of gold and precious stones. At a time when fantasy was rife about places such as Eldorado and Atlantis, it comes as no surprise that Mr Fawcett believed that he was close to finding his promised land, which he called Z.

 

On returning to England, Fawcett tried for years to get funding for another expedition into Brazilian territory, but no-one believed that the mythical city existed. At the start of 1925, he finally found sponsorship, but the money obtained was insignificant. Fawcett decided to limit the size of the expedition team to himself, his elder son Jack, and his son’s best friend, Raleigh Rimell.

 

The three men started their adventure in the countryside town of Cuiabá, in the state of Mato Grosso, and set off heading towards the Upper Xingu River. Initially, they had the help of guides, but Fawcett started to be suspicious of possible conspiracy plots and sacked his team. Alone in the forest, they walked from one village to the next and were seen for the last time by the Kalapalo tribe of Native Brazilians. No-one knows for sure exactly what happened to the English explorers. Speculations include theories that they were murdered, killed by wild animals, bitten by insects, or even that they died of hunger and thirst.

 

During his last contact with his wife, the explorer asked her not to send anyone to find them if they did disappear. In spite of this, several expeditions have been organised to find the three British explorers, but all attempts to solve the mystery have failed. About one hundred new explorers have died while trying to find Fawcett, and three expeditions have been thoroughly wiped out in the same region where the English explorers were last seen.

 

One of these was the Hollywood actor Winton Jones, who organised his expedition in 1930 and who was last seen, in a canoe, naked and in delirium, by the Camaiurá tribe of Native Brazilians.

 

Many legends have arisen as to what happened to Percy Fawcett in Brazil. Some people believe that he lost his memory and lived with cannibals, while others swear that all three turned into hermits. There are other legends that allege that the trio found the enchanting town of Z, but was not allowed to return, so as to preserve the secrecy of the location. The most optimistic even think that Fawcett became a kind of king in the Eldorado that he discovered.