1993年12月22日,冲浪运动员加布里埃尔·麦地那·平托费·雷拉出生在在圣保罗州北圣塞巴斯蒂昂市。年仅20岁,他就在年度世界职业冲浪赛的收官赛夏威夷站中夺下了首个世界冠军。他也是史上最年轻的参加职业冲浪协会世界冲浪巡回赛的巴西运动员,并同时被选入冲浪名人堂。

 

自9岁开始,加布里埃尔就一直和他的继父查尔斯·麦地那形影不离。查尔斯是名冲浪运动员,他很快发现到这个孩子惊人的天赋,并鼓励他刻苦训练,以至他在小小年纪就展现出自己的才华。

 

11岁勇夺冠军

在这样的大力支持下,加布里埃尔在11岁时参加12岁以下组别Rip Curl Grom 大赛中赢得了首个全国冠军。接着他又轻而易举地获得巴西业余锦标赛的金牌,随后在14岁以下组别Volcom巡回赛中勇拔头筹,也在Quicksilver King of Groms大赛和Rip Curl Grom 大赛中名列前茅,并且三度在圣保罗州的比赛中夺冠。

 

他不仅只是在国内称雄,在美国加利州的14岁以下组别Volcom国际大赛和厄瓜多尔16岁以下组别世界业余锦标赛中,他也取得了佳绩,获得亚军。

 

14岁时,他努力击败了屡获殊荣的著名冲浪运动员阿德里亚诺·米南达。每次参加圣保罗州职业冲浪锦标赛赛和各个阶段的职业冲浪锦标赛,他往往能晋级到总决赛。因此,毫无悬念,2009年他成功签约里普斯尔公司,成为职业运动员。签约不过十天,他就站到了世界职业冲浪锦标赛的领奖台上。

 

首位赢得澳大利亚黄金海岸比赛的巴西选手

在仅仅两年后的2011年,他就在圣卡塔琳娜州因比土巴举办的WQS六星级黄金冲浪大赛中摘得桂冠,而且还在法国青年世锦赛中夺魁。他还是首位在澳大利亚的黄金海岸比赛反手浪环节中获奖的巴西运动员。

 

年仅17岁便拥有众多冠军头衔的加布里埃尔,在2011年进入了世界冲浪顶级联赛(世界巡回赛)。诸多荣誉加身并没有让他止步不前。同年,他在ASP世界巡回赛两度夺金,并以招牌式的后空翻动作名声大噪。在冲浪运动中,这种动作非常少见,难度极大,在他之前的所有的比赛中,也仅有一次成功完成。

 

巴西的首位世界冲浪冠军

2014 年,他成为在首位获得世界巡回锦标赛总冠军的巴西运动员,截止目前他共获得过11次世界冠军,而参加这些比赛的不乏名将,如澳大利亚的米克·范宁和美国的凯利·斯莱特等。

 

然而,在2015年的管浪大师赛中,他与澳大利亚的米克·范宁狭路相逢,争夺亚军,但最终遗憾地只获得第三名。面对成绩,他承认2014年的总冠军头衔让自己有点飘飘然,但也坚信2016年一定会赢得更好的成绩,加布里埃尔·麦地那是历史上世界冲浪排名榜上榜时间最长的巴西运动员。

Surfer Gabriel Medina Pinto Ferreira was born in the city of São Sebastião, on São Paulo state’s north coast, on 22 December 1993. At only 20 years old, he became world surfing champion in advance, at the last event on the Hawaiian circuit. He is also the youngest Brazilian to have ever been part of the select ASP World Tour (WCT) and has already joined the Hall of Fame of Brazilian surfing.


Surfing since the age of nine, Gabriel has Always had the company of his stepfather Charles Medina, also a surfer. He was quick to notice the kid’s incredible skill, and encouraged him to train hard and to show all his talent while still small.


Champion at 11 years old

With all this support, at the tender age of 11 Gabriel won his first national championship, which was the Rip Curl Grom Search event in the under-12 class. Next he walked off with the Brazilian Amateur championships, the Volcom under-14 circuit, the Quicksilver King of Groms event, the Rip Curl Grom Search, and also became thrice champion of the State of São Paulo.


His awards were by no means only national: Gabriel took second place in the under-14 class at theVolcom International event in California (United States) and also at the World under-16 Amateur Championship in Ecuador.


At the age of 14, he managed to defeat the famous award-winning Adriano Mineirinho, and he was always at the finals of the São Paulo State Professional Surfing Championship and also several stages of the Professional Surfing Championship. For this reason, it came as no surprise when, in 2009, Gabriel signed a contract with Rip Curl and went professional. With a contract in his hands, only ten days later he won a stage of the Professional World Championship.


First Brazilian to win the Australian stage at Backside

Only two years later, in 2011, he won the WQS 6-star Prime in Imbituba, Santa Catarina, two WQS 6-star events in France and Spain, and also a stage of the Pro Junior World Championship (France). He therefore became the first Brazilian to take home a medal from an Australian event of the Backside programme (Gold Coast Australia).


With so many titles under his belt, at the age of only 17 Gabriel entered the top division of world surfing (World Tour) in 2011. The titles did not stop there. That same year, he won two events of the ASP World Tour, and became famous throughout the world on completing a move known as a backflip, which is a kind of reverse somersault. This is one of the rarest and most difficult moves in the sport, and had only been achieved in competition once before.


First World Surfing Champion from Brazil

In 2014, he was crowned as the first ever Brazilian to become world surfing championship in the WCT division, winning a contest which had the participation of famous names like Australian Mick Fanning and American Kelly Slater – who has been World Champion 11 times.


Then in 2015 he was runner-up in the stage of Pipe Masters, and ended the championship in third place behind Australian Mick Fanning. He confessed that the fame that came with his world title in 2014 took some of his discipline away, but assures that new titles shall come in 2016. Gabriel Medina is also the Brazilian surfer who has spent most time as leader of the world surfing ranking, in history.

Other News