罗纳尔多·卢易斯·纳萨里奥·德·利马简称罗纳尔多,被认为是有史以来最伟大的足球运动员之一。他出生于里约热内卢,年少时便开始了足球生涯。起初,他效力于一家里约热内卢俱乐部:圣克里斯托弗足球俱乐部,并被昵称为“罗纳尔迪尼奥”。

 

14岁时,前巴西国家队球员杰艾子荷与罗纳尔多签订了价值1万美元的聘用合同。然后,杰艾子荷把他转让给了克鲁塞罗足球俱乐部。正是在这里,他入选巴西U17国家队。虽然球队在1993年U17青年世界杯上的表现平平,但罗纳尔多却在比赛中崭露头脚,成为本届赛事巴西队的主要得分球员——总计8次将球攻入对方球门。

 

凭借着优异战绩,他16岁时便成为克鲁塞罗足球俱乐部的专业球员。紧接着,意大利国际米兰队慷慨解囊,愿意斥资50万美元邀请他签约,却被他所在的俱乐部拒绝了。

  

16岁出国到荷兰踢球

次年,罗纳尔多成为巴西米纳斯吉拉斯州足球锦标赛的主要得分球员,共进22球,由于表现抢眼被荷兰埃因霍温俱乐部斥资600万美元抢走。在荷兰,虽然因语言不通,他无法与队友深度沟通,但他仍然成为荷兰联赛中最具得分能力的球员,共进30个球。

  

1996年,尽管此时罗纳尔多的膝伤发作,他仍被巴塞罗那俱乐部以2000万美元的高价买走。但膝伤最终断送了他的职业生涯。

 

因为罗纳尔多的优异表现(在20场中进17球),意大利国际米兰队以3200万的价格抢到他。而他也不负众望,为国际米兰带来了无数场胜利。1996年,在19场比赛中共得14分,并在当年获得“世界足球先生”称号(此时,他年方20,成为获此殊荣的最年轻球员);接着,在1997年,再次获此奖项。1997年,他还获得法国《法国足球》杂志颁发的 “金球奖”。

 

1998年,罗纳尔多赢得欧足联欧洲联赛冠军。由于在此赛事中的杰出表现,他在欧洲被誉为“罗纳尔多”现象。

 

足球生涯因膝伤而断送

然而,接下来的几年,罗纳尔多并不幸运。在发生了1998年世界杯决赛前的惊厥事件后,伤病一直困扰着他。1998至2002,他的膝盖问题不断恶化,使得他的绝大部分时间都花在球场边观看比赛,或是进行治疗。

 

但在2002年,令人难忘的巴西队在当年世界杯上的表现让他再次出现在新闻头条。而且,世界杯期间的优异表现使他第三度荣获世界足球先生称号。

 

返回巴西国内俱乐部之前,罗纳尔多还曾为皇家马德里队和AC米兰队效力。回到巴西后,他在另外几支球队踢过球。2011年,35岁的他因为甲状腺功能减退症和长期伤病带来的生理疼痛,被迫正式结束了球员生涯。

Ronaldo Luís Nazário de Lima, better known simply as Ronaldo, is often considered as one of the greatest football players of all times. Originally from Rio de Janeiro, he started his career at a very early age playing for the carioca club São Cristóvão FR, where he earned his nickname of “Ronaldinho”.

 

At the age of 14, he was signed by former Seleção player Jairzinho for USD 10 thousand, and Jairzinho then sold him to EC Cruzeiro, from where he was called up to be part of the Brazilian U17 national team. Despite the team’s poor showing during the 1993 World Cup, Ronaldo managed to stand out and be the leading goalscorer of the event, with 8 goals scored.

 

With this feat, he soon turned professional for EC Cruzeiro at the age of 16, and almost immediately afterwards had an offer of USD 500 thousand made by Internazionale Milan for his signature – an offer that was turned down by the Minas club.

 

Move to the Netherlands at the age of 16 

The following year, he was the leading goalscorer of the Minas Gerais State Championship, with 22 goals scored, and was snapped up by Dutch team PSV Eindhoven for USD 6 million. At this Dutch club, even though he could not communicate with his teammates for not speaking the language, he was the leading goalscorer of the local championship, netting a total of 30 goals.

 

In spite of the knee problems that would cost him his career already starting to show, Ronaldo was sold to FC Barcelona in 1996 for USD 20 million.

 

Thanks to his excellent campaign (17 goals in 20 games), Internazionale paid a fine of USD 32 million to have Ronaldo on their team, and Ronaldo did not let them down: he scored a total of 14 goals in 19 matches, that also earned him the title of FIFA Player of the Year in 1996 (at the age of 20, thus becoming the youngest player to win the prize) and then again in 1997, and the Golden Ball Award of France Football magazine in 1997.

 

In 1998, Ronaldinho won the UEFA Cup. At this point, due to his brilliance in play, he was better known in Europe as “Ronaldo Phenomenon”.

 

His knee was his Achilles’ heel

However, unfortunately the following years were not good for Ronaldo. Between 1998 and 2002, with the worsening of his knee problems and the convulsion incident during the 1998 FIFA World Cup, he spent most of his time either on the bench or in the process of medical recovery.

 

It was only in 2002, that the unforgettable campaign with the Brazilian National Team in the World Cup put him in the headlines again. This was also when he received the award of FIFA Player of the Year for the third time.

 

Ronaldo also played for Real Madrid and AC Milan before returning to Brazil, where he played for a few more teams before ending his career in 2011, at the age of 35, alleging hypothyroidism and strong physical aches and pains.