引力波(时空震颤)是阿尔伯特·爱因斯坦未被验证的最后一个理论,最近,有证据可以证明引力波的存在,这让世界科学界兴奋不已。

 

这一发现成果的相关研究人员中,有7位巴西人,其中6人是圣保罗圣若泽杜斯坎普斯市国家空间研究所(INPE)的成员。

 

巴西国家空间研究所的奥黛里欧·丹尼斯·德·阿吉亚尔、马尔西奥康斯坦西奥·儒尼奥尔、塞萨尔·奥古斯托·科斯塔、艾伦·道格拉斯·多斯·桑托斯·席尔瓦、艾尔维斯·卡米洛·费雷拉和马科斯·安德烈·奥卡达和圣保罗州立大学理论物理学领域(IFT -Unesp)的研究人员里卡多·思图拉尼,与15个不同国家的一千多位科学家一起协作进行该项目。共有90所大学和研究机构参与了这一历史性证据的研究工作。

 

这一发现与LIGO项目(即激光干涉引力波天文台)不无关系,这一项目于2015年9月14日上午06时51分(巴西利亚标准时间)成功地检测到GW 150914事件——在一个距离地球超过十亿光年的星系中,两个黑洞碰撞、合并造成了引力波。

 

只有合作才可能成功

由于该项目体量宏伟,众多参与的科学家在具体领域各有分工,专注于各自的小组研究。在巴西,国家空间研究所的研究小组,在奥黛里欧·丹尼斯德·阿吉亚尔带领下专注于优化LIGO震颤隔离仪器和检测器性能。

 

同时,来自圣保罗州立大学(IFT-UNESP)的里卡多·思图拉尼及其团队,正在研究建模——其中涉及的分析技术可以推动引力波探测——这是一项艰巨的任务,物质之间引力波相互作用微乎其微,还要对合并的双星系统体征进行分析,其中的工作量非常巨大。

 

尽管2015年9月份就已进行观测,但还需要再等几个月才能完成数据收集——这一阶段的工作于2016年1月结束,相关发现的全面分析结果将于4月份公布。

 

“引力波的首次观测开辟了观察宇宙的新窗口,也预示着在天文学和天体物理学领域研究的新时代”,国家空间研究所的研究人员塞萨尔·奥古斯托·科斯塔在接受《Exame》杂志的采访时如是说。

 

LIGO系统集成了两个相同的探测器,探测器由麻省理工学院和加州理工学院的研究人员开发。这两个机构均位于美国,不过彼此相隔3万多公里,分别是在利文斯顿(路易斯安那州)和汉福德(华盛顿)。

The proof of existence of gravitational waves (oscillations of space and time), the last theory of Albert Einstein that still had to be validated in practice, brought much emotion to the world’s scientific community recently.

 

Among the researchers who were responsible for this discovery, there are seven Brazilians, six of whom are members of the National Institute for Space Research (INPE), in the city of São José dos Campos, São Paulo.

 

Odylio Denys de Aguiar, Marcio Constâncio Júnior, César Augusto Costa, Allan Douglas dos Santos Silva, Elvis Camilo Ferreira and Marcos André Okada, do Inpe, and Riccardo Sturani, a researcher of the area of Theoretical Physics of the São Paulo State University (IFT-Unesp) worked on this Project, together with a collaborative team of over one Thousand scientists of 15 different countries. A total of 90 universities and research institutions were involved in the search for this historic proof.

 

This Discovery is due to the LIGO Project (taken from the English abbreviation for Laser Interferometer Gravitational-wave Observatory), which, on 14 September 2015 at 6.51 a.m. (Brasília standard time), successfully detected gravitational waves resulting from an event known as GW 150914 – the collision and merger of two black holes in a galaxy more than 1 billion light-years away from Earth.

 

Collaboration made the Project feasible

Due to the grandeur of the Project, the thousands of scientists involved are active in smaller groups, studying specific points. In Brazil, the group of researchers at Inpe, led by Odylio Denys de Aguiar, is active in the enhancement of the instruments for vibrational isolation of LIGO and the characterisation of the detectors.

 

In the meantime, Riccardo Sturani and his team, from IFT-Unesp, are working on modelling – which involves techniques of analysis that can facilitate the detection of gravitational waves, which is a difficult task due to the poor interaction of these with matter – and the analysis of signs from coascent binary star systems.

 

Even though the observation was made in September, it was necessary to wait a few months so that the collection of data could be completed – a phase that was completed in January. The complete analysis of this Discovery should be published in April.

 

“This first observation of gravitational waves opens a new window for observing the Universe and also heralds a new era in research in the fields of Astronomy and Astrophysics”, said César Augusto Costa, a researcher from Inpe, in an interview given to Exame magazine.

 

LIGO is a system which integrates two identical detectors, developed by researchers at MIT and Caltech. Both of these institutions are in the United States, one in Livingston (Louisiana) and the other in Hanford (Washington), which are about 3 thousand kilometres apart.