电力行业如何可能让巴西摆脱危机

 

 

过去几年,巴西的国内经济状况不尽如人意。巴西曾是全球第六大经济体,已进入衰退期,外商直接投资额也在下降,总体表现逊色于金砖四国的另外两个国家——印度和巴西。尽管如此,巴西的能源行业仍继续备受跨国公司的关注。这些跨国公司主要青睐巴西丰富的可再生能源和政府对能源结构多样化的激励措施。巴西目前主要依赖水电资源。

 

其中最受投资者青睐的领域是风能。巴西的风能产业在全球排名第四,仅次于德国、中国、美国。今年,巴西的风能产业比去年增长50%,家用风电装机总量已增至三倍。日益增长的需求,加上巴西货币贬值,引起了众多公司(例如:美国公司Denham Capital、西班牙公司Gestamp和法国公司Voltalia)的关注, 这些公司开始投资巴西。

 

近年来,太阳能行业也颇受关注。仅加拿大公司Canadian Solar在获得圣保罗州和米纳斯吉拉斯州(Minas Gerais)的多个地块特许权后就向巴西的太阳能发电项目投资了7.1547亿美元。太阳能还是北美公司SunEdison和中国公司比亚迪的投资重心。这些跨国公司在巴西装机完成后,不仅着眼于满足巴西国内的用电需求,还瞄准智力和阿根廷等国家的用电需求。

 

巴西的智能电网技术行业也有巨大潜能。截至2025年,这个市场能创造约180亿美元的规模,届时预计巴西国内装有4900万个智能测量装置。葡萄牙公司EDP捷足先登,已在巴西率先投资,最近宣布和英国的国家技术战略委员会(Innovate UK)达成了合作伙伴关系。

 

作为全球最大的能源市场之一(在经济危机的情况下,用电需求仍每年增长约4%),巴西备受投资者青睐,因为巴西对外商投资电力行业不作任何限制(这点与其它国家不一样)。巴西对本国资本和外商资本一视同仁,并依靠外商投资者不断竞标地块特许权,尤其是对于输电领域。此外,资产规模优势也会把价格拉下来。

 

外商对巴西电力行业的青睐是巴西据以摆脱危机并恢复其在金砖四国中的增长步伐的主要武器之一。根据联合国贸易和发展会议(UNCTAD,与联合国有关联),巴西是全球第七大最受跨国公司青睐的国家,排在金砖四国的其它两个伙伴(印度和中国)之后。

The last few years have been far from easy in the financial universe in Brazil. Brazil, which had the sixth largest economy in the world, entered a period of recession and witnessed a decline in the volume of direct foreign investments, also losing some space in the BRICs to India and the People’s Republic of China. Even so, the energy sector continues to attract the attention of multinational companies, mainly interested in the abundant renewable resources of the country and also in the Government incentives for the diversification of the Brazilian energy production, which is currently largely dependent on the hydraulic grid.

 

One of the segments which have most attracted investors is that of wind power, which currently stands fourth in the world, after Germany, the People’s Republic of China, and the United States. The industry has posted a growth of 50% this year, if compared to last year, while the number of energy installations in households has tripled. The growing demand, together with the devaluation of the Brazilian currency, caught the eye of companies such as American company Denham Capital, Gestamp from Spain, and Voltalia from France, companies that started to invest in the country.

 

Solar energy has also gained prominence in recent years. The Canadian company Canadian Solar alone has invested BRL 2.3 billion (USD 715.47 million) on projects for the generation of solar energy in Brazil, after obtaining concessions of lots in areas in the Brazilian states of São Paulo and Minas Gerais. Solar energy is also the focus of North American company SunEdison and Chinese company BYD. With the  solar energy units installed in the country, the multinationals seek not only to meet the demand from inside Brazil, but also that of other countries in South America, such as Chile and Argentina.

 

Brazil also has significant potential in terms of smart grid technology. The market can generate some USD 18 billion (USD 5.60 billion) by 2025. It is also estimated that the country shall have about 49 million intelligent measuring devices up to this date. The industry already has some investments by Portuguese company EDP, which is a pioneer in the country, and has also recently announced a partnership with Innovate UK, from the United Kingdom.

 

Apart from being one of the largest energy markets in the world (demand has grown at about 4% per annum, in spite of the crisis), it is particularly attractive to invest in Brazil because the country has no restrictions on foreign investments in the electricity segment – much to the contrary. The country does not make any distinction between national or foreign capital and bets on foreign investors for their recurring tenders for concession of lots, especially in the transmission segment. In addition, the accumulation of assets brings prices down.

 

Foreign interest in the Brazilian electrical segment is one of Brazil’s main weapons in its attempt to break free from the crisis and resume its process of growth within the BRICs. According to UNCTAD, a group linked to the United Nations (UN), the country is seventh on the ranking of countries that are most interesting for multinational companies, behind two of Brazil’s companions in the block: India and the People’s Republic of China.