科技正帮助巴西摆脱危机

 

 

信息技术占巴西GDP的5%,每年产值约6.3亿元。目前,该产业占整个拉美市场的46%,是全球第7大市场。尽管巴西近年受经济危机和政治危机的困扰,该产业仍极有可能保持繁荣发展。根据预测,该产业在2016年将增长2.6%。快来看看巴西在这个领域的亮点。

 

电话和互联网

 

巴西是全球第五大互联网和移动电话市场,并且有着广阔的增长空间。目前,巴西仅有一半人口有互联网连接,并且智能手机用户仅占巴西总人口的一半多一点。事实上,巴西是世界上人际交往最密切的国家之一。

 

美国风险资本公司Kleiner Perkins Caufield & Byers (KPCB)的研究数据显示,巴西人每天使用电脑146分钟,使用智能手机149分钟,使用平板电脑66分钟,这让巴西排在全球第4位。因此,无怪乎Facebook、Twitter、谷歌等公司将巴西视作其各自的最大市场之一。

 

初创企业

 

在信息技术领域,初创企业的数量也迅速增长。拉美风险资本协会(Lavca,一家专门研究拉美经济的机构)的数据显示, 自2011年以来,涌入该领域的资源以每年约30%的速度增长,如今总量已超88亿元。单单去年而言,巴西国内就注册成立了1000多家有着很大增长潜力的新公司,这个数量比2014年多30%。该领域的投资额在2015年下半年达到约10亿元。

 

巴西初创企业协会(ABStartups)的数据显示,巴西的初创企业主要集中在SaaS(网络应用)、教育、互联网、通信、媒体等领域,但也有不少创业者对移动应用软件、金融和娱乐领域感兴趣。在金融领域,超过130家公司提供着财务管理、贷款、保险、比特币、区块链(blockchain)等服务。FinetechLab今年发布的研究报告显示,这些研发项目中有半数获得了约190万元以上的回报,并且有五分之一的企业拥有超过20名员工。

 

电子商务

 

BigData公司应PayPal公司的要求进行的调研显示,尽管巴西GDP正在下降,电子商务和互联网领域去年却增长了21%。2016年底之前,在线销售会增长约8%。EBIT的数据显示,今年上半年,在线销售额达约400亿元,目前这一数据呈现增长态势。2016年,超过2300万名消费者进行了网上购物,比2015年增加了31%。

 

创新

 

有着如此巨大的潜力待释放,这个行业获得了巴西政府和大型跨国公司的青睐。从政府层面而言,一个例子是Sebrae创新中心向创新和技术领域的风险企业提供不超过25.4万元的现金资助,该中心的总预算达到约4224万元。在私有行业,谷歌等公司已聚焦巴西。这个美国巨头计划在圣保罗建立一个创新中心,瞄准初创企业。这家公司已在伦敦、马德里、特拉维夫等城市建立了类似的创新中心。

Information Technology accounts for some 5% of the total Gross Domestic Product (GDP) in Brazil, handling some BRL 300 million (USD 93 million) per year. The country currently dominates 46% of the Latin American market and is one of the seven largest markets in the world. There are so many possibilities that the sector remains prosperous, even in the general economic and political crisis that has destabilised the Brazilian economy in recent years. The forecast for 2016 is that this segment shall grow by 2.6%. Check out some of the country’s highlights within this universe:

 

TELEPHONE AND INTERNET

 

Brazil is the fifth largest market for the Internet and for mobile telephones in the world, and there is still plenty of room for growth in the country; only half the population has Internet access in the country while just over half the people have a smartphone. Together with this, the fact is that the Brazilian population is one of the most connected in the world.

 

According to data released by the American risk capital company Kleiner Perkins Caufield & Byers (KPCB), Brazilians stay on the computer for 146 minutes every day, together with 149 minutes on their smartphones and 66 minutes on tablets, putting Brazil in fourth position in the world. It therefore comes as no surprise that companies such as Facebook, Twitter and Google consider Brazil to be one of their largest markets.

 

STARTUPS

 

Within the universe of start-ups (business ventures in the technology area), the figures are also at full throttle. The resources injected have grown at a rate of some 30% per annum since 2011 and now surpass the total of USD 1.3 billion, according to the Latin American Venture Capital Association (Lavca), an organization that specialises in the Latin American economy. Last year alone, more than a thousand new companies with high growth potential were established in Brazil, this figure being 30% higher than that of 2014. The investments made in the segment came to about USD 150 million in the second half of 2015.

 

According to the Brazilian Startups Association (ABStartups), Brazilian start-ups have been mainly in areas such as SaaS (Web applications), education, the Internet, communication, and media, but there are also many venture developers interested in areas such as mobile applications, finance and entertainment. In the financial segment, there are over 130 companies that offer services such as financial management, loans, insurance, bitcoins and blockchains. According to a study published this year by FinetechLab, half these developments had a return of more than 280 thousand dollars, and one in five has more than 20 employees.

 

E-COMMERCE

 

Even with a declining GDP, the e-commerce and Internet segment grew by 21% last year, according to a research study conducted by BigData Corp. at the request of PayPal. Online sales should rise by some 8% up to the end of 2016. In the first half of this year, such sales involved a volume of BRL 19 billion (USD 5.92 billion), according to EBIT, and the current trend is for this figure to rise further. More than 23 million consumers made online purchases in 2016, a volume 31% than in 2015.

 

INNOVATION

 

With so much untapped growth potential, this industry has attracted both the Brazilian Government and large multinational companies. On the Government side, the Sebrae Innovation Tender, for example, offers cash funding of up to BRL 120,000 (USD 37,360) for the development of business ventures in the areas of innovation and technology, with a total budget of BRL 20 million (USD 6.23 million). In the private sector, companies such as Google have their eyes on Brazil. The American giant plans on setting up an innovation centre in São Paulo, aimed at start-ups. The company already has similar spaces in cities such as London, Madrid and Tel Aviv.