巴西篮球

巴西篮球

巴西人在篮球场上大有作为,正如他们在足球绿茵场上运筹帷幄一样。篮球这项运动在1896年被Augusto Shaw教授第一次引入巴西,随后,大大小小的篮球俱乐部便在这个国家落地开花。1912年,巴西成立了篮球国家队。

自20世纪初篮球开始成为一项受大众欢迎的运动后,令对手印象深刻的巴西球队便开始在国际比赛中取得优异成绩,并多次登上国际比赛颁奖台。篮球世界杯在1950年首次举行,巴西队也是世界上保持每年都参赛的两个国家之一。近些年来,巴西获得2009年FIBA美洲篮球锦标赛冠军,2007年泛美运动会中夺得金牌。

许多巴西人在职业篮球运动员的发展道路上有所成就。比如效力于NBA华盛顿奇才队的巴西籍球员Nenê和为金州勇士队效力的巴西球员Leandro Barbosa。巴西最出名的篮球运动员当数Oscar Shmidt,他是非官方篮球史上的得分王,分数共计49737分。他同时也是巴西史上职业生涯最长的运动员。Oscar的实力在巴西不容小觑,正如他的昵称Mão Santa一样,也就是圣洁之手的意思。至于巴西的篮球队,最受球迷欢迎的是圣保罗的Franca球队和里约热内的Flamengo球队。

巴西篮球最大的特点就是其篮球教练的胆识和果断。其中最著名的是Togo Renan Soares,因一头白发,他的昵称是Kanela。他的远景是将巴西的篮球从一项小众的运动,发展成为堪比足球的全国焦点。目前,跟足球联赛体制类似, 不同的篮球俱乐部会通过参加联赛一决高低。

巴西人爱看精彩而刺激的篮球赛,尽管他们对篮球这项运动的喜爱永远也不会超过影响了无数代巴西人的足球。但从某种程度上来讲,巴西人对两种运动的喜爱,可以称得上是势均力敌。

Brazilian Basketball

Brazilian Basketball

Brazilians excel on the basketball court just as much as they do on the football pitch. A professor by the name of Augusto Shaw first introduced basketball to Brazil in 1896. After that time, many small clubs began to spring up in Brazil, and by 1912 they had a national team ready.

Ever since basketball’s rise to popularity in the early 1900’s, Brazil has been fielding impressive teams to international competitions where they are no strangers to podium finishes. The Basketball World Cup was first held in 1950, and Brazil has been one of the only two countries that have attended every time. Most recently, Brazil won gold in the 2009 FIBA Americas Championship and gold in the 2007 Pan America Games.

Brazilians have also made a career in playing basketball. You will find Brazilians playing in the NBA such as Nenê with the Washington Wizards and Leandro Barbosa with the Golden State Warriors. Brazil’s most famous Basketball player however has to be Oscar Shmidt. He is unofficially the all-time leading scorer in the history of basketball with 49,737 career points. He also has the record of the longest career span of any basketball player. His prowess is cemented in Brazil with his nickname Mão Santa or Holy Hand.

As for the teams in Brazil itself, the crowd favorites are Franca from São Paulo and Flamengo from Rio de Janeiro.

The defining feature of Brazilian basketball is the boldness of its coaches. The main man was Togo Renan Soares, nicknamed Kanela after his white hair. His vision is what brought basketball from a side sport, to rivaling football in the national spotlight. Currently there is a league system for different clubs to compete in, similar to the league system of football.

Brazilians love a good game of basketball, though truthfully, basketball will never rival the fever that football inspires in Brazilians, but it does come in at close second.