奥运历史

丰富你的知识

认识奥林匹克独特的历史


开始旅程
奥运历史简介

奥林匹克运动会的兴起要归功于Baron Pierre de Coubertin的努力,直到今天,由他所创立的国际奥林匹克委员会仍在组织着这项大赛的进行。大会规定每4年举行一次,在不同的地方举办。首届奥运会于1896年在雅典举行,当时有14个国家参与。自此之后,奥委会相继增设了冬季奥运会,残奥会和青年奥运会。

1906

古奥运会举办的体育项目并不多,包括跑步,五项全能运动(绕场跑,摔跤, 标枪, 铁饼和跳远),拳击,摔跤,古希腊式搏击(拳击和摔跤的混合)以及马术项目。现代奥运会走过了漫长的发展道路,现在共有28项不同的运动项目,有些运动与古代的项目类似,有些也具有鲜明的时代特征。但这些项目也并不是完全固定不变的,奥运史上,曾经开办过一些让人耳目一新的比赛项目,比如1906年的决斗式手枪和1992年的单人花样游泳。

1920

奥运会的盛大典礼同樣具有现代特色。第一届奥运会的开幕式是在1920年在安特卫普举行,最初开幕式只是一个用来介绍参赛国家的简单仪式。如今,开幕式已经成为了展示举办国家历史和文化的一个精心筹备之盛大典礼。闭幕式创立于1924年,作为移交举办主权的仪式。随着多年来的发展,闭幕式也成为了盛大的庆祝活动。在1936年首次实行的奥运火炬传递仪式,被认为是最具有代表性和象征意义的活动。奥运火炬在希腊奥林匹亚城的太阳光下被点燃后, 移交给主办国,按照惯例,在火种传递到主办国的途中,会经过一些有代表性的城市和地标。

History of the Olympics

Enrich your knowledge of

the Olympic’s unique history

Start Journey
An Olympics Brief History

The Modern Olympic Games as we know, came back to life thanks to the efforts of Baron Pierre de Coubertin. He was the man who founded the International Olympic Committee (IOC), that still manage the games today. They decided the current system used today of games being held every 4 years, with a changing venue every time. The first of such games was held in 1896 at Athens with 14 nations in attendance. Since then they have added the Winter Olympic games, the Paralympics and the youth Olympic Games.


The Ancient games had only a few events, running, pentathlon (consisting of jumping, discus, javelin throws, a foot race and wrestling), boxing, wrestling, pankration (a blend of boxing and wrestling) and equestrian events. The modern games have come a long way since them, with 28 different events and sports, some similar to the ancient games and some modern additions. These events however are not set in stone, events have come and gone, including some quite bizarre past events like Dueling pistols in 1906 and the oxymoronic solo synchronized swimming in 1992.


The pageantry of the Olympic Games is also a modern adaptation. The first Olympic opening Ceremony was in Antwerp in 1920, initially it was a simple affair which just listed the competing nations. Now of course, it is a very elaborate and large event showcasing the culture and history of the host country. The closing event, designed to hand over the reins to the next host country was created in 1924. Again over the years it has blossomed into a grand show. The most iconic part of the lead up to the games is the Olympic Torch Relay. Started in 1936, a Torch is lit in Olympia, Greece, through the sun’s rays and carried to the host nation, often visiting iconic cities and landmarks on the way.