除日本本土以外,圣保罗市是世界上日本民众聚居数量最多的地方。圣保罗市约有150万日本人,大多居住在市中心附近的Liberdade东方区。Liberdade东方区是圣保罗市的主要旅游景点之一,是巴西国际都市的远东区,让人仿佛一下子从巴西穿越到了日本。

 

由于巴西和日本两国政府的合作,日本人在20世纪初开始移民巴西。那时,日本正经历农业危机和经济危机,而巴西的咖啡种植业需要大量劳动力。

 

抵达巴西后,日本人在Liberdade定居下来。之所以选择在此定居,是因为Liberdade的住宿便宜,位置处于中心地带。如今,Liberdade不仅是日本人的聚居地,也是中国人、韩国人等亚裔居民的聚居地。

 

在这个住宅区包罗万有,有餐厅、糕点屋、典型的甜品店、百货商店(通常卖东方书籍、蔬菜和食品)、书店、庙宇,以及首要的建筑。这个住宅区内随处可见东方文化的典型元素,包括日式灯笼、日式门廊、masu-gumi屋檐并且到处是红色。

 

在Praça da Liberdade(Liberdade的主广场)的Liberdade市集,在每周末的上午9点至下午6点期间营业。这个街市始于1975年,摊档出售的货品包括艺术品、手工艺品、文化产品和美食店,非常热闹。

 

这个亚洲人聚居的社区一年四季里节日不断。一月份举行中国新年庆祝活动,四月份举行日本赏花节(有巨大的白象游行),六月份举行七夕节。在七夕节,这个社区的街道上装饰着由竹子和纸制成的星星,游客可以在上面写下自己的愿望。

 

如果你想了解有关Liberdade社区的更多历史,可以参观巴西São Joaquim街(靠近São Joaquim地铁站,距离Liberdade有一个站的路程)的日本移民历史博物馆(Historic Museum of Japanese Immigration)。博物馆展出移民日常使用的物品、照片和油画。博物馆的开放时间是下午1:30至下午5点。门票是21人民幣。老人及5岁至11岁的儿童有折扣优惠,5岁以下的儿童免门票。

The city of São Paulo has the largest Japanese colony in the world outside Japan. In the city, there are some 1.5 million Japanese, most of which are in the Oriental neighbourhood of Liberdade, near the city centre. This neighbourhood is one of the main tourist attractions in the city, a piece of the Far East in the Brazilian metropolis. Visiting Liberdade is like being teletransported to the other side of the globe.

 

The Japanese started to come to Brazil at the beginning of the 20th Century, as a result of a partnership between the Brazilian and Japanese Governments. At that time, Japan was going through an agricultural and economic crisis, and Brazil needed labour for the country’s coffee plantations.

 

Once in the city, the Japanese settled in Liberdade because of its cheap accommodation and also its central location. Nowadays, Liberdade is home not only to Japanese but also to people from other Asian countries, such as Chinese and Koreans.

 

Among the attractions of this neighbourhood, there are restaurants, bakeries, and typical confectionery shops; shops in general, especially those selling Oriental books, vegetables and food; bookshops; temples; and, first and foremost, architecture. Wherever you go, it is possible to see common elements of Oriental culture, including Japanese lamps, Japanese porticos (tori), a prevalence of the colour red, and eaves of masu-gumi.

 

At weekends, the Liberdade Street Market, which has been operating since 1975, combining art, handicrafts, culture and gastronomy runs from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. in Praça da Liberdade (the main square in the neighbourhood) and is always very busy.

 

The Asian community also organises typical festivities throughout the year. In January, one can check out the festivities in commemoration of the Chinese New Year. Then, in April, there is the Hanamatsuri, the flower festival, with a parade of the giant white elephant. In June, there is the Festival of Stars: the Tanabata Matsuri. During the festival, the streets of the neighbourhood are bedecked in bamboo and paper stars, on which visitors write their wishes.

 

If you want to find out more about the history of the district, you can visit the Historic Museum of Japanese Immigration in Brazil, on São Joaquim street, near São Joaquim Underground Station (1 station from Liberdade proper). The museum exhibits daily objects used by the immigrants, as well as photographs and paintings. The museum is open from 1.30 p.m. to 5 p.m. Admission fee is BRL 10.00 (USD 3.10), and concession applies to students, senior citizens and children aged between 5 and 11 years old. Children under 5 are free of charge.