几乎世界上的每个国家都给人造成刻板印象,巴西也不例外。由于深受好莱坞电影的渲染,现在仍有许多从未去过巴西的人认为,巴西是一个充满异域风情的热带天堂,那里的一切都可以归结为足球和嘉年华。然而,巴西实际上并非如许多外国人所想象的那样。让我们来看一看吧!

 

海滩

 

刻板印象:许多外国人以为,巴西只有一条长长的海滩。巴西人民都有古铜色皮肤,并且全年穿着热带服饰。

 

这个观点为什么是错的:巴西的海岸线很长,全长7491公里,从Oiapoque 市(Amapá州) 延伸至Chuí市 (Rio Grande do Sul州)。巴西有许多世界著名的海滩。然而,绝大多数巴西城镇都远离大海。实际上,巴西26个州中,有9个州完全为陆地所包围。全国各地也并非都是热带气候。各地区之间的气候差异很大,既有全年高温少雨的半干旱地区,也有年均气温为13 °的南部亚热带地区。

 

亚马逊雨林

 

刻板印象:巴西亚马逊雨林非常茂密,举世闻名。因此,外国人常常认为巴西全境都覆盖着亚马逊雨林,并且巴西人都与森林有着亲密关系。

 

这个观点为什么是错的:巴西幅员辽阔,亚马逊地区远离国内大部分地区。多数巴西人从未到过亚马逊雨林植被的主要分布地区——巴西北部。

 

动物

 

刻板印象:由于巴西拥有世界上最丰富的生物群系,因此人们常常误以为亚马逊雨林生活着野猪【这是电影《狂蟒之灾》(Anaconda)带给观众的信息)】和食人蚁【《夺宝奇兵4:印第安纳·琼斯和水晶头骨王国》出现食人蚁】等各种动物。

 

这个观点为什么是错的:这两个物种并非生活在巴西,而是分别生活在欧洲和非洲。亚马逊确实存在的物种有海牛、红鹮、电鳗等等,都远远没有外国人想象的那般凶猛。

 

拉美人

 

刻板印象:许多外国人觉得拉美人都很相似,因此常常以为康加鼓和恰恰舞属于巴西音乐文化。由于大多数拉美国家的官方语言都是西班牙语,许多人还以为巴西的官方语言也是西班牙语。

 

这个观点为什么是错的:实际上,康加鼓和恰恰舞是古巴文化。巴西最流行的旋律当然是桑巴舞曲,并且还有许多其它典型的音乐,包括bossa nova(一种新派爵士乐)、sertanejo(巴西乡村音乐)、forró(巴西东北部的典型音乐)、funk carioca(里约热内卢的本土舞曲)。巴西的官方语言是葡萄牙语。

Nearly every country in the world has its stereotypes, and this is also the case with Brazil. Largely exploited by Hollywood films, the idea that Brazil is a tropical paradise with exotic customs, where everything comes down to football and Carnival, is still present in the minds of many people who have never visited the country. However, the fact is that Brazil is not exactly as many foreigners imagine it is. Check this out!

 

Beach

 

What they think: Many foreigners think that Brazil is just one large beach, that all Brazilians are sun-tanned and live in tropical attire throughout the year.

 

Why it is wrong: Brazil has a very long coastline, totalling 7,491 km in length from Oiapoque (Amapá) to Chuí (Rio Grande do Sul), and many of its beaches are famous throughout the world. However, the vast majority of Brazilian cities and towns are nowhere near the sea. Indeed, out of the 26 Brazilian states, nine are completely landlocked. In addition, the tropical climate is not present everywhere in the country. The climate in Brazil is very varied, from the semiarid region where temperatures are high and rain is scarce, through to the subtropical south which has mean annual temperatures of only 13 °C (which is 55 °F).

 

The Amazon Rainforest

 

What they think: The Brazilian Amazon Rainforest is very rich and dense, and famous all over the world. For this reason, foreigners often think that the whole of Brazil is blessed with the Amazon, and that all Brazilians have a close relationship with the forest.

 

Why it is wrong: Brazil is very large, and the Amazon region is very distant from much of the country. Most Brazilians have never even been to the North of the country, where most of the Amazon Rainforest vegetation is located.

 

Animals

 

What they think: Another common source of confusion is that, as Brazil has the richest biome in the world, the Amazon Rainforest is home to an abundance of different animal species, from wild boar (a message conveyed in the film Anaconda) through to killer ants (as in Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull).

 

Why it is wrong: These species not only do not exist in Brazil, but also they are native to completely different continents: Europe and Africa, respectively. Among the exotic species that do exist in the Amazon, we could mention the manatee, the scarlet ibis, and the electric eel, which are all much less dangerous than species which permeate the imagination of foreigners.

 

Latino

 

What they think: Many foreigners feel that Latinos are all alike. It is very commonly thought, for example, that the conga and the cha-cha-cha are types of Brazilian musical culture. Another point is that, as most of Latin America speaks Spanish, many people think that Spanish is also the official language in Brazil.

 

Why it is wrong: The conga and the cha-cha-cha are actually Cuban. In Brazil, one of the most popular musical rhythms is of course the samba, but there are many other typically Brazilian types of music, including the bossa nova, sertanejo (Brazilian country music), forró (typical music from the Brazilian Northeast) and Rio de Janeiro’s very own music, funk carioca. And the official language of Brazil is Portuguese.