与世界上其它地方一样,巴西有着自己的文化习俗。你务必了解一些文化习俗,以免失态。为此,我们特地归纳了一些令巴西人反感的行为举止与态度,以及一些让巴西人对你刮目相看的行为举止。

 

不宜做的事情:

➢   请勿使用OK手势。这个手势在世界上一些国家是很普遍的。但在巴西,它有双重含义。虽然巴西人明白这个手势的含义,但这个手势仍有冒犯的含义,这就好比伸出一根手指所带来的含义一样,因此被认为粗俗。为避免发生误解,你在表示赞成意见的时候应竖起大拇指。

 

➢    吃东西时请勿用手抓。在巴西,餐具甚至餐巾的使用是很重要的——甚至有时在吃披萨时也要使用。用手抓东西吃是不文明的表现,还会给人留下无礼的印象。

 

➢    请勿说西班牙语。巴西人说的是葡萄牙语,并对此感到非常自豪。当然,如果你不能说一口流利的葡萄牙语,那么使用西班牙语有助与当地人交流。然而,千万不要以为西班牙语是巴西人的母语。如果你不说当地语言,请先表示歉意。

 

➢     请勿把美国叫做“America”(美洲),因为巴西也在美洲,巴西人不想感到受排斥。因此,如果你生于美国, 顶多算是“北美人”。

 

➢   请勿将袋子放在地板上。这可能看起来很奇怪,但巴西人认为这种行为会带来恶运。同样地,请勿将拖鞋倒置。

 

宜做的事情:

➢      比预约时间至少推迟30分钟到达。巴西人不期望客人准时到达派对或社交场合。 唯一例外的情况是商务会谈。但即使是商务预约,因为交通因素而迟到15分钟以内是完全可以接受的。

 

➢    在与他人打招呼时,请展现友善态度。巴西人喜欢流露丰富的感情。通常,女性之间相互吻脸颊是常见的,男女之间相互吻脸颊也可以。男性之间以拥抱或握手来向相互打招呼。

 

➢    乘坐公共交通之前请准备好零钱。因不同的城市而异,50巴西雷亚尔以下的钱币在公共交通车辆上是可以换到零钱的,但如果钱币的金额非常大,售票员常常没有零钱可换。

 

➢    做好在凌晨回家的准备。巴西人喜欢参加派对,有时在朋友家里吃晚餐也可能持续到凌晨。

 

➢    如果你被邀请参加派对,请携带礼物——食物或饮料,切勿空手前往。如果每个人都携带自己的饮品去参加派对,就没有必要携带多余的东西了。

Like anywhere in the world, Brazil has its customs and cultures. Some of these are crucial for you to know and be aware of if you wish to avoid gaffes. Thinking about this, we have separated some behaviour and attitudes that do not go down well in Brazil, as also some behaviour patterns that shall make Brazilians give you those extra points.



➢ Never use the universal OK sign. It is very common in some cultures of the world, but in Brazil, it carries a double meaning. Even though the Brazilians understand the gesture well, it also has an offensive meaning, just like the act of ‘giving someone the finger’, and as such is considered vulgar. To avoid possible misunderstandings, you should express approval by giving the thumbs-up.


➢ Do not eat with your hands. In Brazil, the use of cutlery, or possibly a serviette, is the norm – even when eating pizza. The act of eating with your hands is associated with uncivilised, and can also give an impression of being impolite.


➢ Do not speak in Spanish. Brazilians speak Portuguese and are very proud of it. Of course, if you do not speak good Portuguese, then speak in Spanish to help you to communicate with the local people. However, never assume that Spanish is the native language spoken in Brazil, and do apologise for not speaking the local language.


➢ Do not refer to the United States as ‘America’ because Brazil is also part of the American continent and Brazilians do not like to feel excluded. Therefore, if you were born in the United States, you are, at most, ‘North American’.


➢ Do not put your bags on the floor. It may seem strange, but Brazilians associate this with bad luck. For the same reason, you should never leave your sandals upside down.



➢ Arrive at least 30 minutes AFTER the scheduled time. Brazilians do not expect punctuality at parties or social events. The only exceptions to this rule are business commitments. Even for a business appointment, a delay of up to 15 minutes is perfectly acceptable due to traffic conditions.


➢ On greeting someone, be friendly. Brazilians love to show their affection. In general, kisses on the cheek are more common among women, and also between men and women. Men greet each other with a hug or a handshake.


➢ Have change for public transport. Depending on the city, the maximum limit for notes that can be modified on public transport can be up to BRL 50, but it is quite common that the conductor does not have change if the value is very high.


➢ Be prepared to return home in the morning. Brazilians like to party, and even dinner at a friend’s house can last until the early hours of the morning.


➢ If you are invited to a party, take something as a contribution – something to eat or drink. Never arrive empty-handed. If everyone is taking his or her drink to the party, taking something extra is not necessary.