在巴西,宗教是一个严肃的话题,因为巴西有句谚语称“宗教是个不得与他人进行讨论的话题”。巴西人民对其各自教义与信仰无比忠诚,由此催生了另类旅游市场:宗教旅游。需要说明的是,本文中介绍的不仅仅是关于罗马天主教的。

 

除了朝圣和教堂,佛寺、萨满教社区、灵修中心和清真寺也是分布在巴西350个都市里超过100处景点的组成部分。本文重点介绍一些较为著名的宗教景点,巴西每年有大约1,800万人次参观这些宗教景点。

 

圣保罗州阿帕雷西达

说到宗教旅游,不能不提圣保罗州的阿帕雷西达(Aparecida do Norte)小镇。这个小镇每年吸引1,000万名朝圣者前来朝拜阿帕雷西达圣母教堂。阿帕雷西达圣母是巴西的守护圣人。

 

阿帕雷西达圣母教堂是世界上最大的罗马天主教堂之一,主要的名胜为一尊29厘米高的圣像,这尊像是1717年由一位渔民发现的。阿帕雷西达在每年10月进入旺季,因为人们在10月12日庆祝阿帕雷西达圣母节。

 

圣保罗州和南里奥格兰德州的佛寺

巴西的佛寺中,最出名的是圣保罗州科蒂亚市(Cotia)的如来寺(Zu Lai)和南里奥格兰德州(Rio Grande do Sul)TrêsCoroas市的康卓寺(Khadro Ling)。每年约有150,000人次参观巴西的佛寺。

 

如来寺是拉美地区最大的佛寺。该寺庙的经常主办文化活动,庆典和节日贯穿四季。而康卓寺在南美比较有名,主要是因为它建于山中,寺庙藏身在森林之中,地理位置得天独厚。

 

阿克里州的萨满社区

探秘之旅在秘鲁非常流行,巴西也有探秘之旅。最重要的地点是阿克里州(Acre)的Mutum社区。此地每年连续五天庆祝MaririYawanawá节,主要活动是治病、跳舞、音乐和祈祷。

 

若要参与节日庆典,必须在官网http://www.festivalyawa.org/上报名登记,因为只限150位非巴西本土社区的人士参加。节日在每年10月份举行。从阿克里州首府里约布兰科市(Rio Branco)出发,历时约三天便可抵达该部落。

 

米纳斯吉拉斯州的Chico Xavier纪念堂

巴西米纳斯吉拉斯州(Minas Gerais)乌贝拉巴市(Uberaba)是著名的灵媒Chico Xavier的出生地,自20世纪70年代Chico在巴西崭露头角,每年吸引着大批游客来此参观。如今,虽然这位宗教领袖已经逝世,但仍然吸引着游客前去参观他的故居,以及他与其他灵媒集会之地。那些灵媒追随着这位巴西巫师的路线,继续传播唯灵论。

 

当Chico Xavier纪念堂向公众开放之后,届时将有更多游客涌入这座城市。纪念堂收集了Chico Xavier本人亲笔书写的187本作品,以及Chico的照片、视频和全息图。

 

巴拉那州的Al-Khatab 清真寺

人们对于伊瓜苏市(Foz do Iguaçu)的印象更多是其举世闻名的伊瓜苏瀑布。然而,这里的宗教旅游也很旺。Al-Khatab 清真寺是该市第三处最受欢迎的旅游景点,每年吸引60,000人次前来参观。

 

这座清真寺具有传统伊斯兰建筑风格,楼体呈八角形,带有两个尖塔。室内刻有阿拉伯经文,配有彩色玻璃窗户和阿拉伯花纹。这座清真寺设有导赏团,无需门票即可参观。

Religion is a serious topic in Brazil, to the extent that there is a famous Brazilian saying that religion is one subject that must never be discussed with others. The Brazilians’ devotion to their respective religious creeds and beliefs has inspired a highly unusual tourism market: religious tourism. In addition, these trips are not just restricted to the Roman Catholic faith.

 

Apart from pilgrimages and churches, Buddhist temples, Shamanic communities, spiritualist centres and mosques are part of the more than 100 attractions which are scattered around some 350 Brazilian municipalities. In this article, we have highlighted some of the more popular tourist destinations within this sector, which serve some 18 million Brazilians every year.

 

Aparecida do Norte, São Paulo State

One cannot talk about religious tourism without mentioning the small town of Aparecida do Norte, in the State of São Paulo. This city welcomes some 10 million pilgrims per year, who visit the basilica of Our Lady of Aparecida, the patron saint of Brazil.

 

As one of the largest Roman Catholic churches in the world, this sanctuary has, as its main attraction, an image of the saint, 29 centimetres tall, that was found by fishermen back in 1717. Aparecida do Norte gets particularly busy in the month of October when Our Lady of Aparecida’s saint day is commemorated on the 12th.

 

Buddhist Temples in São Paulo and the Rio Grande do Sul

Among the Buddhist temples in Brazil, the main attractions are the Zu Lai Temple in Cotia, in Greater São Paulo, and the Khadro Ling in the town of Três Coroas, in the state of Rio Grande do Sul. Together, Buddhist temples are visited by some 150,000 people per year.

 

The Zu Lai Temple is the largest Buddhist sanctuary in Latin America. The temple has an intense cultural agenda, with ceremonies and festivities which take place throughout the year. The Khadro Ling temple stands out mainly for its prime location, atop a mountain and surrounded by native forest.

 

Shamanic Community in the State of Acre

Very popular in Peru, mystic tourism is also present in Brazil. The most significant location here is the Mutum Community in the State of Acre. The Mariri Yawanawá Festivities are held here every year, over a period of five days dedicated to healing, dance, music and spiritual expressions.

 

To take part in this festival, you have to sign up through the official website (http://www.festivalyawa.org/), as there is a limit of 150 participants from outside the surrounding Native Brazilian communities. The festivities take place in October every year, and the trip to the tribe takes about three days, setting out from Rio Branco, the capital of the State of Acre.

 

Memories of Chico Xavier, Minas Gerais

The birthplace of the famed spiritual medium Chico Xavier, the city of Uberaba in the Brazilian state of Minas Gerais, had welcomed throngs of tourists ever since the 1970s when Chico became a phenomenon throughout the country. Currently, after the death of the religious leader, this location receives visitors interested in getting to know the house where Chico once lived and also in having consultations with mediums, who follow the line of the primary person responsible for publicising the spiritualist doctrine in Brazil.

 

The flow of visitors should pick up further when the Chico Xavier Memorial starts operation. The venue location, which brings over 187 works penned by Chico Xavier himself, as well as photographs, videos and a hologram of the medium, has already been officially inaugurated, but shall only open for public visitation in September.

 

Al-Khatab Mosque, Paraná

Foz do Iguaçu is better known for the world-famous Iguaçu falls. However, religious tourism is also intense in the region. The Al-Khatab mosque is the third most popular tourist attraction in the municipality and welcomes some 60,000tourists every year.

 

The mosque has traditional Islamic architecture, with an octagonal building and two minarets. The interior brings together Arabic inscriptions, stained-glass windows, and arabesques. The venue has a tour guide on the site, and admission is free of charge.