圣保罗历史

圣保罗是巴西最大也是人口最多的城市。作为巴西的经济中心,这座国际大都市具有深厚的历史和文化底蕴。除了以美丽的建筑,时而堵塞的交通和多雨的天气闻名,圣保罗也承载着鲜为人知的有趣历史。

1554

据记载,第一个发现圣保罗的欧洲移民者是一位经历了船只失事的葡萄牙水手João Ramalho。1554年,耶稣会传教士抵达这里后建立了圣保罗经院(São Paulo de Piratininga),当时共计有十二位修道士居住在院内。修道士们致力向当地的土著居民传播宗教信仰,这座内陆城市蕴藏的巨大商业潜力在当时还并不为人所知。

1700

在接下来两百年的时间里,在圣保罗这个地处偏远的村庄生活的人们自给自足。值得一提的是,圣保罗也是当时唯一处在内陆地带的村庄,它的四周被密集生长的原始丛林所包围。除圣保罗以外,葡萄牙在巴西的殖民地均分布在沿海地区。17世纪,正是由于圣保罗这一地处内陆的特点,吸引了一批名为先锋旗手(bandeirantes)的探险者的注意,他们为了寻找金矿和钻石穿越丛林,深入内陆,为当时圣保罗这个小村庄带来了源源不断生意和贸易往来,圣保罗一夜之间腰身变为一座小有规模的城市。探险者们从传教士手中夺取地区控制力,使得圣保罗发展为一座以金钱交易为主的城市。与此同时,在其邻近地区相继发现的金矿也为这座城市的崛起起了推波助澜的作用。

1800

17世纪的圣保罗逐步向城市化进程迈进。在当时国家动荡不安的政治局势下,身为巴西摄政王的佩德罗一世拒绝了葡萄牙议会的命令,宣布了巴西的独立,命自己为巴西第一任皇帝,并将圣保罗定为首都。此时的圣保罗自然而然地成为了巴西的首府和中心,城市化进程得到进一步发展,作为圣保罗当时主要产业的咖啡豆生意也发展迅猛。

1889

1889年,巴西废除帝制成为共和制国家。圣保罗是当时全国主要的咖啡豆生产地之一,同时,由于当时的国家总统在圣保罗州和Minas Gerais州轮流坐庄产生,使得圣保罗的政治实力也逐步加强 。

1932

随后,1932年四名学生由于示威抗议当权政府在圣保罗遭枪杀,这一事件轰动全国,引发了著名的“宪政革命”。双方的对抗共持续87天,共造成934人在革命中身亡。革命的结束标志着巴西旧共和国的灭亡。如今,在圣保罗市区内,还矗立着一座为了纪念革命中失去宝贵生命的学生们而建立的方尖碑。

2015

圣保罗自此便迈着成熟稳健的步伐逐步前进,在政治实力,经贸实力以及新近发展起来的的创新科技产业等方面领军全国。如果你来到圣保罗,千万不要忘了亲自去看一看那座标志着城市诞生的建筑-圣保罗经院,它依然安静地坐落在原地,目睹着这座伟大城市的发展和变化。

São Paulo City History

São Paulo is the largest and most populous city in Brazil. It is Brazil’s economic power house, as well as being a city of deep culture and history. Now known for simply being a large metropolitan area with beautiful architecture, congested traffic jams and a lot of rain, it hides a deep and interesting past.

1554

The first European settler to discover the area was a shipwrecked Portuguese sailor by the name of João Ramalho, but it was never settled until Jesuit missionaries arrived in the area in 1554. They built the Colégio de São Paulo de Piratininga – A Jesuit college that housed 12 monks. From this base the monks taught the natives and converted them to Christianity. Little did they know the significance of the site they chose.

1700

For nearly two centuries, São Paulo remained a small isolated village, relying mostly on subsistence, living off the land. However São Paulo was also the only interior village, simply because the jungle was so hard to penetrate. The rest of Portugal’s colonies were on the coast. In the 17th century this attracted the attention of the bandeirantes – Literally meaning ‘flag-bearers’ these were intrepid explorers, people who would venture into the jungle looking for riches and gold. This brought trade and business to the small village accommodating these bandeirantes. The bandeirantes brought so much trade to São Paulo that it bloomed into a small city. They wrestled control from the Jesuits and turned it into city about money. Gold ore was also found in neighboring areas which did nothing but help boost São Paulo’s growth.

1800

In the 1800’s São Paulo was roaring forward as a city. In this period  Prince Pedro I was reagent in control of Brazil and reported to his father and the crown in Portugal. There was much unrest in Brazil at the time, and with wide support, Prince Pedro I declared independence from Portugal. He declared São Paulo an imperial city where he took his residence as the new Emperor Pedro I of Brazil. São Paulo the center and capital of Brazil grew even larger as a city. The expansion of coffee production became the chief export and a major factor in São Paulo’s growth as well.

1889

In 1889 Brazil became a republic, São Paulo still remained a large coffee producer, and grew powerful on the national political scene, taking turns electing presidents with another Brazilian state of Minas Gerais.

1932

In 1932, 4 students were shot and killed in São Paulo whilst protesting the then current government. This turned into a revolution called the ‘constitutionalist revolution’. In the end the fighting in São Paulo lasted 87 days with 934 deaths. This marked the end of the old republic in Brazil. There is now an obelisk in São Paulo commemorating the students, and those that died in the fighting.

2015

São Paulo Has matured into the city it is today. Powerful politically, powerful in commerce, and also recently on the forefront of Brazil’s innovative technology sector. If you visit the city you can still visit the building where it all started, the Colégio de São Paulo de Piratininga. It remains standing….. watching it’s city grow.