关于巴西你应该知道的真相

巴西和绿色环保

 

巴西已经订立了走向更环保的承诺。1973年石油危机后,巴西大力推广乙醇燃料。在此之前,80%的巴西石油都必须从国外进口。巴西拥有大量可种植甘蔗的耕地,这些甘蔗可以发酵生产乙醇,目前巴西92%的汽车都以甘蔗乙醇为原料发动。

巴西和奇怪的名字

 

你知道巴西为什么被叫做巴西吗?与你所预料的相悖,巴西的名字取自巴西木,而不是因为其他的原因。这种产自巴西的硬木是制造燃料和家具的原材料,然而它却无意中成了这个国家的名字。里约热内卢的意思其实是“一月河”,原因是第一个发现这里的人在一月份抵达,并把海湾误以为是河口。

蛇岛

 

在圣保罗州海岸附近,有一个奇怪神秘的岛屿,Ilha da Queimada Grande, 俗称为蛇岛,是濒临灭绝的“金矛头蝮”蛇最后的栖息地。有人称岛上每平方米就有五条毒蛇,然而探索频道发现事实上并没有那么可怕,岛上每平方米其实只有一条毒蛇。目前,为保护岛上的蛇,巴西海军严禁市民游览小岛,话说回来,既然这些蛇是世界上最恶毒的蛇类,谁又真的愿意去岛上呢!

关于巴西你应该知道的真相

渔夫和海豚

 

渔夫和海豚的关系向来很紧张。在圣保罗南部一个叫做Laguna的小镇,这里的渔夫学会了如何和他们的水生同伴协力合作。渔夫们在岸边拿着渔网等待海豚将鱼群赶向他们。鱼群由于被困在渔夫和海豚中间,渔夫们便可以用渔网轻易捕到鱼。这种合作关系如何开始是个谜,但不否认的是双方能从中各蒙其惠!

1932年奥运会代表团

 

1932年对巴西来说并是美好的一年,对世界也一样。全球经济处在大萧条时期,像许多国家一样,巴西政府没有足够的资金送运动员到洛杉矶参加奥运会比赛。这无疑会成为一个遗憾,因为选手之一的Maria Lenk本可以成为第一个来自南美洲的女性奥运会参赛者。然而,带着强烈的在奥运会上扬眉吐气的愿望,巴西政府想出了巧妙的解决方案,他们将82名代表团运动员们送上了一艘名叫The Itaquice的咖啡贸易船。由于资金匮乏,运动员们沿途售卖咖啡,但最后凭借着惊人的毅力和决心,他们成功抵达了奥运会举行地,Maria Lenk也如愿参赛。

亚马逊部落

 

据估计,在亚马逊仍有77个原始并孤立的土著部落。这些部落世世代代生活在热带雨林中。我们对他们的生活方式有所了解,是因为这些部落和之前被发现的部落有相似之处。其中,一个部落成年礼的习俗匪夷所思,他们在手套里装进数百只刺人的蚂蚁。部落的男孩成年时需戴上这些手套并忍受剧痛。

Facts You Should Know About Brazil

Brazil and going green

 

Brazil has made a huge commitment to going green. Since the major oil crisis in 1973, Brazil made a large push to ethanol as a fuel source. Up until then, 80% of all oil had to be imported into Brazil. Brazil has large tracks of land that can be cultivated to grow sugarcane; this sugar cane can then be used to make ethanol fuel, which 92% of Brazil’s cars now run on.

Brazil and its strange names

 

Do you know why Brazil is called Brazil? Contrary to what you may believe, Brazil is actually named after Brazilwood, not the other way around. This hard wood from the area is used to make dyes, or simply furniture, however, it also unwittingly gave the country its name. Rio de Janeiro in English actually means “River of January”. It is called that because the first explorers, who arrived in January, mistook the bay for the mouth of a river.

Snake Island

 

There is a strange and mysterious island off the coast of São Paulo. Ilha da Queimada Grande, nicknamed Snake Island, is the last bastion of the endangered Golden Lancehead viper. There are claims that there are 5 snakes for every square meter on the island, however the Discovery Channel found out it is actually a little less terrifying at 1 snake per square meter. The Brazilian navy now bans civilians from visiting the island in order to protect the snakes, but as these snakes are some of the most venomous in the world, who would want to go anyway!

Facts You Should Know About Brazil

Fishermen and their Dolphins

 

Usually the relationship between the fisherman and the dolphin is a strained one. In a small town called Laguna, south of São Paulo, the fishermen have learned to work together with their aquatic counterparts. The fishermen stand near the shore with their nets ready, while dolphins herd fish towards them. With the fish now trapped between the fishermen and the dolphins, the fishermen can cast their nets and catch the fish. How this all started is a mystery, but both parties benefit!

The 1932 Olympian team

1932 was not a great year for Brazil, or for the world for that matter. It was in the midst of the Great Depression, and Brazil like so many countries could not afford to send their athletes to the Olympic Games, held in Los Angeles. It would have been a shame too because one of the athletes, Maria Lenk, would have been the first South American woman to compete. However Brazil, with their incredible desire to stand tall among nations in the Olympic world came up with an ingenious solution of putting all 82 Brazilian delegates on the coffee trade ship, The Itaquice. With little to no money the athletes soldoffee along the way, but in the end with incredible perseverance and commitmen the athletes made it to the Olympics, and Maria Lenk managed to compete.

Amazonian Tribes

There are an estimated 77 uncontacted isolated native tribes still remaining in the Amazon. These tribes have been living in the rainforest for generations. We know about their ways, as there are similar tribes that have been contacted. One tribe, as a rite of passage, uses gloves with hundreds of stinging ants inside. The boy going through this rite has to wear these gloves and bear through the intense pain.